We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast let it down” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breakfast let it down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the staff, very friendly and helpful at all times, parking is shared with the shopping centre next door but free, the rooms are large and comfortable like all modern Holiday Inn Express hotels and very clean.
What really lets this hotel down is the breakfast, there was a good choice of hot and cold drinks, the usual choice of cereals, yoghurt, etc. with the limited hot menu of scrambled egg and sausage, unfortunately the egg looked like it had been cooked some days earlier and the sausages could have been drawing a pension, I stuck to the coffee and cereal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you Peter for the comments and kind remarks on the stay that you had with us.

The breakfast service is indeed free to all guests, however, we should also have all aspects of it appealing, and we continue to look at the eggs and sausages – indeed, today we have been trialling out another type of sausage and getting some feedback on it.

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    202
    78
    25
    17
See reviews for
117
103
27
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great staff wifi now in all rooms stayed 12 weeks in all so need to offer meals most days has all I had we're really nice rooms nice standard beds need looking at though sheets clean and towels changed daily

Room Tip: Get one over looking island as it quieter and view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you Richard for the comments following your recent stays with us – it was great to be able to accommodate yourself and your colleagues in such circumstances and hopefully we made your time away from home that bit more bearable and enjoyable!

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed 1 night recently and although newly updated all-over wifi was a pleasant surprise, the hotel lets itself down with the awful breakfast!
Anything supposed to be hot is actuallty cold, no selection of teas or coffees just plain etc etc etc

Rooms are also warm overnight and the system does not over ride properly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithjw1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you Keith for your feedback on the stay you had with us.

My apologies that the breakfast was lacking in choice, and heat. I know that we do take temperature checks to ensure that the food is hot, so I am not sure how the hot items were cold. In terms of the teas and coffee selection, there should always be at least five teas to choose from, and likewise the coffee machine has 5 drinks to choose on it, along with decaffeinated as well.

It was good of you to mention the free, in-room WiFi, which only came live last Wednesday.

As a team we will take on board your comments regarding the breakfast and I hope that it is more appealing on your next visit.

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I always like to write my reviews, partly to help other travellers pick the right hotel, but also with the hope that hotel management read the review with a hope of improving their service throughout.

PROS
Excellent reception staff, quick check in, when I arrived my room the TV wouldn't work. Very friendly reception staff straight up to fix, could not be fixed so moved to another room with complimentary drink. Management please praise them, bald headed man with glasses and small dark haired lady on reception

Lifts were exceptionally quick

Lovely ambiance downstairs on an evening.

Bathroom was very clean.

Great locations for all local amenities and onward travel.

CONS
Parking was meant to be free in the adjoining car park which is shared by local cinema complex, spend good 15 mins driving round looking for a space. I gave up and parked opposite in a payment car park.. £5.70 for 24 hours.

It would have been lovely if the hotel did evening food to enhance the ambiance of downstairs. A real shame they didn't as was looking forward to relaxing,

Shower was not red hot, Luke warm

Small TV, think all modern hotels should have modern plasma s

No do not disturb signs, which I found very odd. Hence at 9.30am had a loud knock, " housekeeping". Management please understand some people like to book hotels to relax and have a lie in. Please give us the opportunity to have this by adding do not disturb signs to rooms.

Check out at 11am, move to 12pm like most other brands now do on Sundays

Oh and back to housekeeping again, at 10.45am. ,just jumped out of the shower ready for quick change to meet my 11am check out and another knock "housekeeping". Talk about pressure!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hi Dave

Many thanks for the feedback and suggestions on the hotel following your recent stay with us, it is good to get input across the whole guest experience.

The whole team read every review, so your kind comments about a couple of the team members are well appreciated and those mentioned will be duly recognised. In terms of cleanliness, naturally this is an area where the housekeeper and her team look to excel, so thank you for acknowledging that.

I will have a separate conversation with the housekeeper about the times when you were disturbed in your room, my apologies for this, as it should not have happened and indeed, there is a list provided that advises which rooms have departed, and these rooms should be prepared first, leaving others guests in peace.

At present, I am not able to move the standard check out time back an hour, as the demand for early check-ins on a Friday and Saturday, particularly for guests attending weddings, means that we would not be able to have the rooms turned around in time. It is something that we can monitor and also look at individual requests as they arise.

Last week we had free WiFi installed throughout all bedrooms and the next item on the “Technology To Do” list is to have the televisions changed, so please be assured it is in hand. The hotel does provide a dinner menu in the Great Room on Monday to Thursday nights, and these dates can be expanded if there is sufficient demand for dining, however, at present, that demand is not high enough.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and do say hello the next time you are staying with us.

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I’ve stayed at a number of ‘express’ hotels travelling over the country and a lot of them you feel more processed than the sausages they try and feed you for breakfast in the morning but this place was good and well worth going to if you are passing through Hamilton. I stayed with my family here for a night between Christmas on the way back to England and it was really a very pleasant surprise.
Most of these low budget hotels are pretty much the same with the only differentiating factor being how the staff treats you during the stay. The staff here were incredibly helpful, friendly and actually seemed nice and actually happy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi Allan

Many thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on the stay that you had with us over the holidays - it is especially nice to read that the team were able to make a real difference to your stay and I know how lucky I am as a GM to have such great colleagues to work with.

Thanks again

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I wish to thank the staff for a warm welcome and friendly service, although my stay was only for one night, it was very satisfying. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The breakfast was self service and there was a good choice. I booked in advance and got a great tariff. The quality for the price was very good. I would stay again....... Thank you very much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lassieglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi "Lassie" (from Glasgow I presume?)

Thank you for the kind remarks and feedback which you have given - it is always nice to read such positive remarks and I hope you have had a good start to the New Year!

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Came to spend Christmas with my daughter's in-laws and Aunt Moira and I used the hotel as an annex to their house which was full.

We enjoyed our stay very much. No complaints at all. The hotel was very conveniently situated,lovely and modern with an excellent breakfast.The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The taxis back to the hotel at night were also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi Alice, (and Moira)

It was great to be able to provide you with accommodation whilst up to visit the rest of the family over Christmas, and thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on here.

Thanks also for mentioning the team in the hotel - it was our pleasure to see you both and hopefully we will see you again soon,

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
2.0 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Address: Express By Holiday Inn Keith Street, Hamilton ML3 7BL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With FREE WiFi throughout whole hotel and completely non smoking, the Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, has a tremendously convenient location and is ideal for both business and leisure guests alike. The inclusive Breakfast is a Continental breakfast with some hot items makes good value even better! The hotel is located in Hamilton town centre, and has free parking available adjacent to the hotel, as well as offering a selection of attractions within walking distance of the hotel, and is only two minutes drive to the M74 and M8 with Scotland's great cities within easy reach. Glasgow is only 20 minutes away, Edinburgh 50 minutes and Stirling an hour. Holiday Inn Express Hamilton is near Glasgow and is handily positioned for Hamilton International Technology Park as well as Strathclyde Business Park. If you are looking for some leisure activities, then we are only minutes away from Strathclyde Country Park. The hotel is well located for Scotland s three international airports: Glasgow, Prestwick and Edinburgh. Glasgow is only 23 miles away on the motorways and Prestwick can be reached in about 45 minutes, while Edinburgh is approximately 50 minutes. In the hotel we have a fantastic, bright, spacious Great Room which offers you a chance to relax, chill out, use the Wifi, have a drink from the bar, or even just meet up with some colleagues. If you wish a private meeting, we have a selection of three meeting rooms all with floor to ceiling windows and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing