We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Seriously, the best place in Stirling!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Castleview

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katkat529
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously, the best place in Stirling!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found Castleview when looking for a place that could house at least 6 of us, and was close to or in Stirling. Having never been to Stirling, we were sort of flying blind and went off of the description and other reviews. I couldn't have been more pleased with the Castleview property. Our group expanded from just the 6 of us to 10, once my daughter showed the place to her friends. They decided to stay with us as well... and, well, why not? There was more than enough space! Even with 10 of us in the house, you never felt crowded. You could always find a quite area to read and relax.

We are a family that loves to cook, and the pleasure of cooking on an AGA was real treat for all of us. The massive dining room easily sat all of us, plus 4 friends we had over for dinner. The AGA turned out enough food for everyone and no one was tied to the kitchen too make these feasts happen.

The rooms were all quite comfy. The only tub we didn't use was the one that is quite antique as it was having some draining issues. But, there were plenty of baths/showers that no one ever waited to use one. The rooms were all heated with the radiators, which once we figured out how to use them, we were comfortable all week! This home has all the modern updates that you want for comfort, but really retains the look and feel of when it was built - quite a wonderful character home!

Castleview is a short walk to everything. Our family already misses our stay and will definitely be planning our return. Our friends that live in Stirling were amazed at the house as well. They said, "this house is in the poshest square mile of all of Stirling", and were amazed that we found such awesome accommodations. Lastly, my grandson (3 years old), summed it up best by saying, "I want to stay here forever!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: AGA Cooker
Liked least: Lots of stairs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHELAGH D
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“FAB PLACE FOR CHILLED OUT WEEKEND”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We booked Castleview for a staff retiral and were not disappointed. House was lovely, cosy and huge!!!!! We had a great time and loved being able to all sit round huge dining room table together - then chill out in front of roaring fire. House had everything you could wish for!! We have already looked at dates later in year. Very handy for all amenities. We loved it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A group of 14 of my family and friends hired Castleview to celebrate my 30th birthday. Trying to find somewhere to house such a large group did prove to be a bit of a challenge as I didn't want people to spend too much money so soon after Christmas, this house was a brilliant find!
We were greeted on arrival and given some information and a tour of the house - we were amazed at the size! The house was perfect for what we needed and very reasonably priced! Everyone had a bed to sleep in and, surprisingly for the size of the house, was very cosy. The kitchen is to die for and was spot on for feeding a very hungry large group of people. We will definitely recommend the house to our friends and look at re-booking in the future - we have already tried to book for new year 2015-16 but unfortunately it's not available. Great house! Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Delighted that you enjoyed Castleview. I should point out though that the house is not yet booked for next new year, 2015/2016!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnePhilp
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great House, great views, great location”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Castleview for Christmas 2014 and had a wonderful week. Our main concern was could a house so large be hot enough but there was no need to worry the house was very cosy indeed. As others have said the house is large enough that everyone can get their own space. All rooms very comfortable and kitchen well equipped especially loved the Aga cooked our Turkey to perfection. Would not hesitate to recommend the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald R
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue for a family gathering”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We rented Castleview for a weekend for a family gathering. With 10 adults and 4 children I wasn't sure if we would be able to accommodate everyone comfortably but this huge house swallowed us up. All the bedrooms are OK, some are much better than that. The communal spaces are large, there is a large garden, with decked areas. The kitchen is modern and well equipped. There is wifi, tv, etc, everything you need. The top floor has a full size snooker table. Easy walking distance to stirling centre and views of the castle from all the front rooms of the house. Parking on the drive. This is a very spacious, well presented and comfortable property more than capable of accommodating large family groups. Booking and admin with stirling self catering was problem free and our damage deposit was returned promptly. We had a great weekend and would return again happily.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTravelRi...
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious house”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Castleview is a beautiful house in a great location. There was plenty of room for our four couples. We especially enjoyed having a drink in the afternoon on the second floor balcony overlooking the backyard. It was only a five minute walk to the town of Stirling and Stirling Castle itself.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halvard H
Kongsberg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent place for a visit to Scotland”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We are several guys that studied at Glasgow Uni a long time ago. Every year we visit Scotland. This year we visited Castleview. The place was excellent. Short distance to everything, plenty of space for the 9 of us, and a good kitchen. We even had our own snooker tournament during the snooker world championship. Just great for a large group.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing