We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on the Farm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jim’s Farm Villas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We recently returned from a great visit to Jim's Farm Villas. We decided to base ourselves at Jim's for 5 days whilst we explored the local attractions. From the outset we were really impressed with the standard of service and the friendliness of the staff, they really can't do enough. Jesse, the Manager, is both professional and personable and clearly runs operations very well. As for the villas themselves, we couldn't fault them. We stayed in the spice garden villa, the family rooms were clean, well appointed and extremely spacious and we very much enjoyed the outdoor shower. We also enjoyed mingling with the other guests at meal times which are taken in the same villa. The food was consistently good and we soon got used to 4 course meals! Look forward to returning one day !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenRoomDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have recently (April 2013) returned from my second trip to Sri Lanka, and was delighted to return to Jim's Farm Villas. My gf and I shared a beautiful room in the Hilltop Villa, it was really something else to just read and swim with fantastic views of the mountain range all around us. The farm is outstanding and seemed even more vibrant and welcoming than our stay at JFV in 2012. The highlight was being joined by a Crested Serpent Eagle, hopping between coconut trees as we had our dinner.

We made Jims Farm our base for around 5 days whilst we explored the local attractiions. I would recommend seeing Dambulla Cave Temples (dont let the monkeys steal your picnic), taking the train from Kandy through the tea district, and if your up to it going for a gentle cycle to the local town (you can hire bikes from Jims Farm).

Clean rooms, lovely staff, loads to see.

Room Tip: Hilltop is next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSouthWestisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Jim’s Farm Villas is situated on a working farm in beautiful, peaceful, hilly surroundings, its location is ideal to explore the cultural triangle and within driving distance of major sites.
We stayed 5 nights at Hilltop, one of two villas, and sitting by the pool watching the stream of butterflies on their way to Adam’s Peak was one of the highlights of my holiday. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with large bathrooms and all mod cons, the attention to detail makes you feel right at home. I particularly enjoyed taking our delicious four course evening meals together with the other guests exchanging views on the day's outings and Jesse and his team are always very attentive to the guests’ needs. Take time to tour the farm and discover the multitude of crops from pepper to mango and other exotic variety of plants. We loved every minute of our stay and felt JFV was very special and we were so well looked after we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWT100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in Hill Top, one of the two villas on this working farm, as a base to explore the many sights of Sri Lanka's cultural triangle, taking time off in between to relax in the peaceful and very beautiful surroundings. You are right in the heart of the countryside, and the approach to the farm passes the local Buddhist temple and crosses paddy fields to the gate.The rooms are large, airy and well designed, Jesse the manager and his team couldn't be more helpful, and the food is the best I found in Sri Lanka. Very sad to leave - but I'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tc1uws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a wonderful, tranquil haven surrounded by coconut palms and other luxuriant crops growing on the farm - my favourite of all the places we stayed in during our two week holiday in Sri Lanka. The two villas are beautifully furnished and decorated and have large airy rooms with comfortable beds, great showers, air-conditioning and other welcome amenities. The pool is set on a hill with gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside and birds and butterflies flitting around. Jesse, the manager, and his staff are friendly and attentive and always willing to help or offer advice. The food was delicious – we ate our evening meals together with the other guests, providing the opportunity to socialise and share the day’s experiences. Although it feels far away from anywhere, JFV is only a couple of miles from the A9 and thus excursions to Kandy, Dambulla, Sigiriya, and other locations in the cultural triangle are easily achieved, with the prospect of returning to this peaceful setting in time to relax before dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueHCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We arrived at Jims Farm Villas on March 10th and stayed for 5 nights. From the moment of arrival we were made to feel special. Our rooms were in the Hilltop Villa with it's glorious pool and luxurious accomodation, meals were taken at the Spice Garden Villa which was a pleasant walk or exciting Tuk Tuk ride. The food was first class, very well prepared and presented and it was very nice to know that many ingredients were from the farm. An added attraction was that all the guests could mingle at meal times which made for lively conversations and sharing of the various days experiences. The farm tour was lovely, including helping to round up an errant kid goat, the Tuk Tuk driving lesson was something I had always want to do and we had a Sri Lankan cooking demonstration/lesson using traditional earthenware pots on open fires. A short walk to pay our respects to the local Buddhist temple monks was a delightful experience.

Room Tip: Both Villas have excellent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

As you are driven deep into the Sri Lankan countryside you may be thinking: "Was that booking made months back going to live up to expectations?" Any doubts you might have are swept away from the moment you arrive at Jim's Farm Villas. Manager Jesse and his team step out to welcome you to one of two villas built on this working farm. The location is beautiful, the rooms are big and luxurious and the service discreet and charming. Make sure you book for dinner at least one night. Dining with your fellow guests on a delicious four course Sri Lankan meal, with the stars above you, and the sounds of the forest around you is something you will never forget!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matale
18.7 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
11 mi away
A&B Events
A&B Events
#3 of 3 in Matale
3 reviews
16.7 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 19 in Dambulla
3,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,814 reviews
13.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#3 of 19 in Dambulla
230 reviews
18 mi away
Green View Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim’s Farm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim’s Farm Villas

Address: Ehelepola, Pallepola, Matale 21000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Matale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matale
Price Range: £149 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jim's Farm Villas is a luxury boutique hotel, located midway between Kandy and Dambulla, set on a 50 acre organic Coconut and Spice farm and is an ideal base for exploring the whole Cultural Triangle. We have 3 Villas with 14 rooms: all are en-suite, with fans and ac. All our rooms are designed and furnished using the best local woods, local rattan furniture, and Batik from Ena De Silva' Women's Co-operative. Our sheets are luxury Egyptian cotton. We have a very sandy soil-excellent for black pepper- which also means we get very very few mosquitoes. 7 of our rooms are large Doubles: 7 are super large Family rooms, capable of taking parents and 3 children. There is much to do at Jim's: daily farm tours: milking our cows at 4pm: lazing in our Hilltop swimming pool: pool table: Ayurvedic Spa with resident Ayurvedic Doctor: walking our dogs: visiting the 2 local Buddhist Temples for an evening blessing: walk or tuk tuk into Pallepola, our nearby town only 1.5 km from Jim's. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jim’s Farm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jim’s Farm Villas Sri Lanka/Matale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing