We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tour of trees and plants”
Review of Jims Farm Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jims Farm Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Limoges, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A tour of trees and plants”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is an excellent location from which to enjoy the sites of the area. Not too far to travel each day and a lovely place to return to at the end of the day. We really liked the gardens and the swimming pool. The Manager, Jesse, gave us an interesting tour of all the plants and animals. It was nice to share a table in the evenings with other guests and we exchanged views and advice. Many of the folk we met, were with us subsequently so it felt very friendly and comfortable. The staff were excellent and the surroundings most beautiful.

Our room, although lovely, was on a corner near the stairs and so was not very private. I think I would have preferred to have been at the hilltop Villa near the pool. The food was freshly made and very well presented but I would have liked a choice of european or sri lankan. I am not sure I came to Sri Lanka to eat hamburger,however nice it was.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking or tuk tuking down for breakfast I'd go for the Hill Top Villa roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    21
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
85
90
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Boutique hotel accommodation set amongst the peace and tranquility of 50 acres of working farmland. It was a joy to rise early at Hilltop Villa and watch the sun come up, before a swim and leisurely stroll through the coconut palms to breakfast in Spice Garden. Jesse and his staff were welcoming and attentive, without being intrusive and the tuk-tuk was always on hand to take us between villas. Communal dining each evening brought guests together to swap stories of their day's excursions, whilst enjoying fabulous, freshly cooked, Sri Lankan fare. I cannot think of anything that would enhance the experience I enjoyed at Jim's ..... except perhaps the spa facilities in the third villa, about to be completed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyP549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Bird song, flowers , tropical fruit and wonderful service, Jim's Farm has it all. It truly is a haven carved out of the jungle for the weary traveller in need of relaxation in the midst of an active holiday. There are two villas on the site and we stayed at Spice Garden-- the main house. The bedrooms are light , airy, well equipped and the bathroom is a delight with bath and a power shower that is partially outdoors.
The farm grows pepper. nutmeg , cinnamon and plenty of tropical fruits which appear at breakfast in the form of juices and a beautifully presented fruit platter followed by eggs from the farm hens. Dinner too is a splendid affair-- but before that you really have to try the arrack cocktails! The meal is served upstairs on a lovely verandah at a long table presided over by Kevin , the genial owner , or Jesse , the farm manager. The menu is a secret until revealed by the chief steward; it was usually four courses with a home made soup, a salad and a western or Sri Lankan main course and pudding. We were asked about food preferences on arrival.
We stayed for three nights and had one complete day of relaxation at the farm. We wandered along the forest paths looking at the spices and the flowers,and swam in the lovely pool at Hill Top. Kevin took us by tuk tuk to view the third villa due to open in August with family rooms, a spa and infinity pool--- enough to make us want to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Jim's Farm as part of honeymoon and we were spoilt. We had the whole farm to ourselves for 2 out of the 3 nights. The food was amazing and Samka, Kevin and Jessie were excellent hosts. I would totally recommend this accommodation for peace and tranquility after a long day sight seeing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We came to Jim's Farm Villas thinking that it would be special, but was unprepared for the 'Wow' experience combined with the total feeling of ease and relaxation it gave. This place is not just a beautifully appointed and luxurious hotel - it is a working farm near a village and the sense of real Sri Lanka took over as soon as we arrived. Just the mix we wanted.

So much to remember - the welcome, the very friendly, respective staff, the tuk tuk rides round the farm and between the two villas, the walks round the estate - through the farm and jungle-tracks and to the village, the food, the meeting with other guests over a mouth-watering dinner every evening...the list goes on. Those five days were very special. Thank you, Jim's Farm!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nona111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights at Jim's Farm. A wonderful experience……peace and quiet after a drive from Colombo. All guests dine together at dinner so making for a good old chinwag as the wine flows!! Staff are first class and cater for every need. Thank You.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davrosmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The villa is on a 50 acre farm of spices and coconuts. There are actually two main buildings for the guests, the Hilltop Villa which has four rooms and the pool, and then the reception and dining building at the foot of the hill. You are transferred between the buildings by the hotel staff driving tuk-tuk's, which is great fun.

The dining is at a set time, 7.30pm. with a set meal which changes each day. All guests eat at the same long table on the open veranda, which is actually rather nice, a chance to catch up, swap stories, advice on where to go and what to see. The food is excellent, traditional Sri Lankan curries with lots of dishes. If you are around for lunch they will also do you a nice toasted sandwich and chips! Breakfast again is served at the reception building, sliced fruit, toast and eggs however you want them! very tasty.

Our room in the Hilltop Villa was on the first floor, as are the other three rooms, spacious with both a bath and walk in shower. You get some really good views from the Hilltop Villa, both from the pool and your room.

The Hotel manager is very keen to have a chat with you and tell you all about the farm, he will probably want to give you a guided tour round too if you have the time.

We really enjoyed our stay at Jim's Farm Villa's, we would definitely stay again. They were building a new block when we were there, this would have an extra four rooms with plunge pools and a Spa, I think to be opened next year?

Room Tip: The Hill Top villa has great views and the pool whereas the reception block, which houses another fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niveklb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matale
14.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,626 reviews
20.8 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,472 reviews
22.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Lake Lodge Hotel
Lake Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kandalama
319 reviews
21.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
418 reviews
18.7 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jims Farm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jims Farm Villas

Property: Jims Farm Villas
Address: Ehelepola | Pallepola, Matale 21000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Matale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Matale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jims Farm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jims Farm Villas Sri Lanka/Matale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing