We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really awesome place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Euphoria Spice and Herbal

Euphoria Spice and Herbal
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.25*
and up
Secrets of Sri Lanka: Private Day Trip to Matale Including Cooking Class and...
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Matale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We offer free Sri Lankan spice and ayurveda tours.Please book in advance for lunch and cookery classes. ( Please note that our restaurant is operated only on reservations). Location:If you are coming from Matale or Kandy, we are located 15km away from Matale in the Dambulla road in the town called "Madawala Ulpotha" infront of Temple Mahamewnawa. If you are coming from Dambulla, we are located 30 km from Dambulla in the Kandy-Dambulla road. We can also be identified as number 88.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is an excellent way to learn more about the herbs and spices on the Island. This traditional medicine is still widely used. The staff take you round the garden explaining how each plant or tree grows and what uses the herb or spice is put to. We were then invited to hear more about herbal medicine and ask questions. Perhaps because they were quiet a massage for shoulders, head and arms was thrown in. You can then buy the herbs and spices.really wsome place

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sohil1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    16
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I was on my way from Sigiriya to Kandy and wanted to visit a Spice Garden in Matale. As usual I took help of Trip Advisor and Euphoria is the Place I selected.

We were very well greeted by Ms Ruwandi Pereria. She had explicit knowledge about herbs, plants etc and did explain us very well. The garden has plenty of spices and herbs and the explanation given to us was very satisfactory.

We were also given tea which was very nice and tasty with a perfect flavour. A must mention is the King Coconut that was served as I loved it during our trip to Lanka and drank it everyday.

They do provide lunch but only on reservations. However, we had no reservations still they did arrange for a lovely lunch and made a curry in their inhouse kitchen. The curry was the pick of the lot from all the varieties that we were served. Though arranged from outside it was a perfect meal to have ended with a lovely yogurt.

The place is excellent. They did have some products but we were not forced to buy.

Overall excellent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinay1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sam231”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

one of the memorable places to visit..... I'm sure everyone would love the breath taking gardening of the herbal plants. suitable for any type of family.... can have the peaceful environment with nourishing herbal meditation plus spicy Sri lankan taste dishes.... awesome place for a visit.....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Maleesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawanella
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A service to Remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Been a Sri Lankan and visiting one of our local spice and herbal gardens was an amazing experience for me with Euphoria., They had an excellent staff and customer service was amazing. We had a good lunch along with my other friends where we had cycled all the way as an adventure trip.
The garden was beautiful as a botanical garden, well maintained by the staff itself. The Director-est was very help full Miss. Ruwandi Perera.
For foreigners visiting our beautiful land Sri Lanka please don't hesitate to drop by on the way to Sigiriya or Dambulla because its a fantastic place to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank infocraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Great Experience And Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our visit to this attraction, it was both informative and delicious! We started with a walk around the grounds, and learnt about the various plants, then had a demonstration of the products(the hair remover works, and the red oil for muscle/ligament pain, as they both were demonstrated on me!). We had a great lunch of sinalese food, and finished off buying a whole heap of products for home use! Highly recommended if you are into alternate medicine and beauty products! The lunch has to be prebooked. The only thing that's missing is a health spa, as that would put the icing on the cake!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank china2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Euphoria Spice and Herbal also viewed

 
Matale, Central Province
 

Been to Euphoria Spice and Herbal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing