We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet lodge in forest setting.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with washing machine, dishwasher, electric hob, extractor hood.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Kitchen with washing machine, dishwasher, electric hob, extractor hood.
Bedroom 1 with 5ft double bed and single bed.
Bedroom 2 with queen size sleigh bed and oka and stone fireplace.
Lodge gardens
Lodge gardens
Lodge gardens
Lodge gardens
Treehouse
Duchray Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet lodge in forest setting.”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Two adults, two teenagers, and two small-ish dogs really enjoyed our long weekend in Duchray Lodge. It was quiet with no phone signal - excellent as far as the adults were concerned but not the teenagers, however there is WiFi. The cottage is small but has everything you need (except a cheese grater). We had some lovely weather and on the first night my husband and I spent a fair amount of time looking at the night sky which was clear and peppered with stars. There's plenty of forest track walks straight from the doorstep and the dogs had a lovely time exploring new ground. Speaking of dogs, if you take one I'd make sure they behave because the cream carpet and cream sofa is a bit worrying! Of course we kept them off the furniture but covered the sofa with a huge throw - just in case! There's a handy hosepipe outside for cleaning muddy legs. One of the days we all just read books and watched DVD's and it was nice to unwind in a tranquil setting. I have forwarded on the Lodge's details to my friend who is interested in staying with her family. Oh, and if you're scared of the dark take a night light, once you turn off the lights, it's beyond pitch black!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old victorian nature of the cottage and the fireplace
Liked least: The way my wife was treated/we were accused by the proprietor
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the quietness and the nature surrounding it, the great condition of the lodge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
philipmel...
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good peaceful base to explore from”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in July 2016 on a weeks visit to the Trossachs with my wife and 2 kids. The gate lodge is situated on the outskirts of Aberfoyle up a private road, very peaceful location situated up in a forested area.

You won't get a mobile phone signal in the lodge but frankly that's not a bad thing and you will get one just down the road closer to Aberfoyle itself, there is free wi-fi in the lodge so it's easy to keep in touch and plan trips without being disturbed. The lodge is clean, well presented and well equipped with appliances including a dishwasher and washing machine the only things we missed were a freezer compartment and a microwave not a big deal though just buy your ice creams when you are out ;-)

The cottage is pet friendly and garden area at the back was enough to keep the kids amused when we weren't out and about, actually found frogs and newts in the pond which impressed the youngsters greatly.

If you are looking for a peaceful getaway in the Trossachs I'd recommend it..

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing