We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“evening meal”
Review of The Forth Inn

The Forth Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Annan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“evening meal”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

very friendly service, good choice of draught beers and well cooked supper we had just dropped by having been working in the area, so this was a pleasant surprise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank powfootwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    175
    39
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food in the heart of Scotland”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Forth Inn is located in the lovely, small town of Aberfoyle, close to Stirling, Scotland. The Restaurant is also a small bed and breakfast for visitors to Aberfoyle. We did not stay at Forth Inn but I am sure the accomidation is just a good as the Food. I had a Scotish hamburger with plenty of Sauce and oven buns. The Prices were above average but normal for the Aberfoyle area. The Service was great and lots of the locals from Aberfoyle gathered in the evening for a game of Cards or a Exchange of words about this seasons harvest. The menu is small but there is still something for everyone; unless you are looking to loose weight. Forth Inn is the best Restaurant in Aberfoyle and I would come again when visiting the beautiful "Country" of Scotland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tilman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big improvement”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

When I first knew the Forth Inn back in the late 70s it was, frankly, rubbish; by the 90s it was better, but not by much. However, a recent visit with an Aberfoyle-based friend was a revelation, and I can't wait to go back! The first thing that caught my eye were the 8 real ale pumps, all functioning and all from Scottish brewers. I had a pint of Beinn Dearg from the An Teallach Brewery and it was excellent, as was my friend's pint of Schiehallion. As for food, we were only in for a light lunch, but my friend was waxing lyrical about his soup, while my ham, chorizo and cheese panini was excellent. Main courses seem reasonably priced, but I felt the starters, baked potatoes and paninis were a shade expensive at between £5 and £6. However, that's a minor quibble as the overall experience was great, with notably friendly service to boot!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good pub grub”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

had a few meals at the pub on two different nights. the restaurant wasnt in use as they werent busy enough. the steak and ale pie was great as was the whale and chips my wife ordered. we shared a sticky toffee pudding as the portion was far too big for one. price was quite reasonable washed down with some fine draught beer. ala carte it wasnt but good pub grub it was . friendly and efficient staff . well done.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely place !”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited 26th May 2014, with my sister, We were on a coach party going through The Trossachs and the coach pulled up right outside. Ample parking for everyone.
My sister had the Panini but I had the Haggis with Drambuie, coated in breadcrumbs with a Dijon mustard. Great food and reasonably priced. See picture.
Lovely little place. Bit dated on the outside, but offer a very warm welcome. Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Forth Inn also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Forth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing