We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bield Guesthouse
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Camp Hotel(Callander)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
77
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian houserob roy wayb blovely guest loungeyogurthighly recommend a stay herefluffy towelsfront of the housea wonderful place to staycomfortable bedscooked breakfastaltskeith houseattending a weddingexcellent accommodationshort walkquiet locationnext morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a lovely B&B - clean, quiet, with a very gracious and helpful host - Alison. It is situated up on a hill and our room had a very nice view. It is a short walk down into the town of Aberfoyle, where there are a few restaurants and pubs to have lunch or dinner. The breakfast was tasty and substantial. It's a great value, and was the first of many good experiences we had on our trip staying in family-run B&B's.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TheDayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Bield is a beautiful Victorian house in a great position for easy access to everything in Aberfoyle. The public/breakfast areas are lovely and rooms are to a high standard and everywhere was immaculate! Alison was so friendly and helpful, and her breakfasts are lovely. A good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, granola, yoghurt etc and really tasty cooked breakfasts. There is off-street parking, and the centre is really only a 5 minute walk away. The entrance to the forest and all its walks was only a minutes walk from the house, and it probably only took about 10mins to walk to the lodge where all the different walks start and where Go Ape is based.
We had a double room overlooking the lovely garden. We felt this was really good value for money and don't really know what else you could ask for! The guy who gave a "terrible" review - really?? I think he must have just been out for a moan from the start!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This establishment has everything a good B&B should have. Lovely building, great hosts, super clean, fluffy towels, toiletries and an exceptional breakfast. It was by far and away the best value B&B we stayed in during our 17 day trip to Scotland. The prices should be hiked up to reflect the market in general.

Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you book early you can get a lovely front room., as we did. It was spacious and had a nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryHorse007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a great stay at the Bield, which is a lovely house in a lovely setting. Bicycle storage was no problem and Alison was very helpful and accommodating. The room was great - clean, comfortable and with everything you could want. Breakfasts were particularly special, with a wonderful choice of fresh and dried fruit, yogurt, cereal etc, in addition to a range of cooked options. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LJOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had walked over from Drymen on the first leg of the Rob Roy Way. We had lunch in a local bar/restaurant and made our way to the Bield. We rang the bell. No one answered. We walked back down the hill into Aberfoyle and had tea and a scone in a tearoom. We then walked back up to the Bield. This time the door was opened. Other guests had arrived and had been admitted.

The room was at the back of the house and had no outlook. The facilities were adequate.

Room Tip: Try another B&B
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glaswegian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews