We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebration Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Celebration Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with the company Lochs and Glens for a festve break,Xmas eve ,Xmas day and New Year Eve, what a great time, the food is excelent and plenty of choice for b/fast and evening meal. Entertainment each evening and trips included in the price, everyone says thet they dont know how the company cando it???? Met some lovely friendly people and had a great time. Will definately be going with Lochs and Glens company again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the fields where the Highland "Coos" roam about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    102
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
239
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Went on a Lochs and Glens winter break, cannot fault the hotel in anyway staff, food, cleanliness, all excellent, bar prices reasonable, if all hotels took as much care as these people, I cannot fault them in any way.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is the way to run a business! Efficiently, effectively and with great value and quality! The Lochs and Glens company owns 5 or 6 beautiful hotels all located beside scenic lakes around Central Scotland, they are set in about 50 acres of unspoilt wilderness. Then they bring in their customers from all around the UK, on their own luxury coaches. The drivers are all well chosen for their charm and good humour, and they take the guests around the sights during the stay.
The hotel was very smart, and nicely furnished with blue tartan carpets, wifi, and lots of space for dining and evening entertainment.
The staff, from Czech Rep, Romania, and the like, would do all they could to make us feel well cared for, and they dressed the part, on this trip, in Chrismassy outfits, as did many guests.
The excursions, to Loch Lomond, Glamis Castle and Edinburgh was well balanced and worthwhile, and all 8 of us in our party loved it!
The food got better day by day, culminating in a feast on 'Hogmany',- that was after Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day beforehand! Some of us would have liked not to have been rushed with the courses coming in very quick succession, and usually with the main course well under-way by the time the wine arrived; no time for a pudding wine with desert!
This type of holiday trip is aimed at elderly couples who have a great time dancing from 9.30 till 11 pm every night to a live singer/musician, but you wonder how long the chain of elders can keep coming, after all Mick Jagger is now older than some of these cronies!

Room Tip: Many rooms are at the back of the hotel, try and get a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We booked this holiday - a 5 day break with Lochs and Glens not knowing that it was a mountains and mistletoe break. In fact we were a little alarmed at the prospect of having 2 Christmases!!
The holiday was to celebrate one of our parties 80th birthday and it was his choice to go there.
What a pleasant "find". We had a wonderful time - the Christmas/New Year theme was not overdone and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
The hotel staff were excellent as was the acommodation and food.
The nightly entertainment was very good, although on the first night we were all too jaded after the journey of 12 hours to get there, so had an early night. On subsequent nights though we were able to appreciate the quality entertainment provided.
All the trips that we had were great as were the drivers, Brian drove us mainly and Ian took the wheel on Brian's rest day.
Our first trip to Scotland and a first with Lochs and Glens.
It was brilliant!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marbesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks holiday at loch achray mountains and mistletoe . Vegetarian food was exellent can recommend the veggie haggis staff were very polite and friendly. Morag the coach driver who drove us around was very good and knowlegeable . I can recommend staying here you wont be dissapointed .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank butiaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

just returned from second holiday with Lochs & GLENS this year and had another wonderful holiday.The hotel is spotless ,the staff are very ,friendly & helpful . nothing is to much trouble .the food was very good .the hotel was top class and manager Elaine was very friendly and helpful. The tour driver was Charlie was very knowledgable ,friendly , helpful and very safe driver as the return trip the weather was very bad heavy rain and strong winds but Charlie had it all under control.Also had very relaxing music playing in the background to break the journey up. and was always checking that the passengers were ok with the heating or if needed anything. would recomend to any one any age top class holidays.
THANK YOU AGAIN X

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Just returned from 5days Lochs & Glens coach holiday .Our driver Steve was very knowledgable.All our outings were good my favorite being Loch Lomond Cruise & visit to 1 of their sister hotels Inversnaid for a lovely lunch. The staff at Loch Achray were Brilliant and so helpful; Restaurant manager Davie is a great character and manages to keep his crew happy and smiling. Have yet to be other than happy with Lochs and Glens

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonyaWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
12.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Property: Loch Achray Hotel
Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing