We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class break”
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

have just returned from a 4 day self drive break at this hotel. firstly, we thought, as independent travellers, that we would not be welcomed by the other residents, but this was not the case at all,in fact we were made to feel almost part of the group! apart from the weather, everything was excellent, from the moment we arrived on sunday till we left on Thursday. we will definitely hope to have another lochs and glens break early next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have just returned from our first L&G holiday -will definitely use this company again. Lovely hotel, happy helpful staff, food was quite plain but adequate and restaurant service was good. We particularly like the fact that no feeder coaches were involved and that our luggage was delivered to our room on arrival and collected from the room on departure - other coach tour operators could learn from this company. The drivers were fun and very informative on local history. We are now hooked on Scotland.

Room Tip: Hotel is quite remote with no immediate neighbour so it is peaceful all around with a pleasant outlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophrania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have recently returned from a 4 night break at Loch Achray and can only say that the hotel, room, staff and food were absolutely superb!
The staff were always pleasant and helpful & our room was kept clean at all times. Even towels & soap were changed daily. You would not get this quality at some so called top class hotels.
This is only our second trip using Lochs & Glens (self drive) and we still cannot get over the quality and value of our holidays. The last place was Loch Awe some years ago, which was also excellent.
Many thanks to every member of staff at Loch Achray!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our first holiday with Lochs and Glens, we found everything about the company and the hotel faultless, from booking the holiday to our journey up to Loch Achray. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, the food was very good and the service from all the staff was efficient and very friendly. As a coaching holiday we were thoroughly spoilt and our driver Dave made all our journeys through the wonderful Scottish countryside truly memorable. We visited some great places and were always back to the hotel in time to enjoy our evening meal and an evening walk in the beautiful countryside which surrounds the hotel. All in all an excellent holiday, we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We are just back from a great holiday to Loch Achray. The hotel is well decorated, lovely en suite bathroom with plenty of towels etc and a loch view room. The driver was excellent, taking us out every day to Glamis Castle, Edinburgh and the Royal Yacht Britannia and Trossachs National Park. All entrance fees included.

The food was very good, three courses dinners and a choice of cereals and full Scottish breakfast.
We tried various Scottish favourites including haggis and stovies.

If you are considering going to Scotland go with Lochs and Glens. It's hassle free and we really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs the best view is the top bedrooms. Ask for the right hand side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CORBYGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our Third Lochs and Glens Trip. Yet again they have done us proud. Loch Achray is a stunning hotel in glorious surroundings. The only let down I have is that there isn't another pub you can have a stroll to in the evenings after a fabulous meal, though that is only our personal preference. However, that aside, the Hotel Staff are a credit to Lochs and Glens, they cannot do enough for you and always friendly and helpful. The Food is great, always hot and tasty with a selection to meet any taste. The Entertainment in the evening is great fun and so is the daily quiz they run. The rooms are comfortable and if you can get a Loch View Room even better... I must admit the shower in our room was fantastic, you are lucky if you get one with decent power in hotels, but that was great. There are some great walks from the hotel if you are up to it, well worth for the scenery. We took in the Edinburgh Tattoo on this trip which was a fabulous Show, the Visit To Sterling was great too, although for our own personal tastes I was not inspired by Pitlochry - it was a long drive for not a lot to do when you got there - though there are a couple of very nice pubs. All in all if you want a Scottish Break Lochs and Glens are the best - where else can you get your accommodation, Food and Trips for such a great price. I am looking to book another trip very soon

Room Tip: Loch View Rooms would be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our first experience of a holiday like this and I can only say ' Brilliant '. There is no changing coaches with this company, they pick you up and you're on your way. The hotel was good and the food great. Our tour drivers Liz and Ian were both very informative and amusing. The Edinburgh Tattoo was superb and Stirling castle was most interesting. I must mention all the staff at the Hotel who were great. I would recommend this company highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foreigntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
678 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
680 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing