We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have never been on a coach holiday before and were a little apprehensive especially as the price was so low. Having researched other peoples views on Trip Advisor we went for it and we are very glad we did. So many good reviews can't be wrong, yes the bedrooms are a little old fashioned but they are warm, clean and comfortable.
No need for me to repeat what everybody else has said. Thank you to all the kind staff and what wonderful value for money.

Room Tip: Front looks out over lake, rear looks over the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bignic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just returned from my 13th trip. Excellent, Lochs and Glens know their business and great value for money. Drivers and staff are helpful and informative. Never had a complaint. Food is basic but there is choice, lovely breakfast. The whole operation run efficiently without losing the personal touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Loch Achray hotel at the base of the Duke's Pass and located about 8 miles from Callander is a superb location for visiting The Trossochs as well as the west Highlands. The hotel provides excellent en suite accommodation, a high standard of food with an extensive menu as well as friendly staff and a warm welcome.
The exterior and parts of the interior of the hotel have been recently refurbished and as part of the Lochs and Glens organisation it can be described as one of the best.
Facing Loch Achray and overlooking a field full of Highland cattle it is also a stone's throw from Loch Katrine with steamer trips which include views of one of Queen Victoria's hunting lodges.

Room Tip: All rooms offer excellent views but ask for a front room if you want to view the Loch early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulFabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

hi michelle dave & staff,Will be up on the 27th november from cornwall Really enjoyed my last two visits perfect cannot wait to meet you all againCould i have room 121 please? Thanks for all your staff helped us smashing hotel

Room Tip: as i put, go for room 121 beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suehughesStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Excellent value for money. Travelled with lochs and glens holidays, made to feel very welcome, good food, very clean rooms. Travelled with my mum and husband both had rear view rooms which also had a good view of the mountains and a stream running past. Our room was very warm and quite adequate. Downside was that as my mum was a solo traveller she ended up in a very small room, which did need refurbishing and had no heat in the bathroom I did mention this on the feed back form, and I have no doubt that this will be rectified.
Overall a great holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mizzyshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My 1st trip with Lochs & Glens and certainly will not be the last. It was a perfect holiday, everything you wished for was provided,good accommodation, food, excursions. All staff were very professional and made your holiday. The value was exceptional

Peter Gobell
Colchester

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our experience started with Tony, an excellent, knowledgeable driver (Mr Scotland), the itinery was perfect for a first time traveller, excellent scenery which could not be bettered. The hotel was perfect, outstanding staff, excellent choice of menus and bar prices to match. Bedrooms very comfortable and clean, heating to your own requirements. The entertainment needed a tweek on the last night, but in general quiet good. Overall a wonderful first time Scotland experience. we hope to return again.

Room Tip: Our first floor room (128) had walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KEITH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
696 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing