We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stormy weather at Loch Achray but keep smiling !”
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our first trip with Lochs and Glens so our first visit to the Loch Achray Hotel . We know someone who travels regularly with them and speaks very highly of the whole package so we took the plunge and booked . Pleased to say we were not disappointed , with an almost new coach and experienced and knowledgeable drivers . The weather took a turn for the worse with a 70-80mph storm bringing down power lines so when we woke the first morning we had no electricity or water.
Hmm , not good but not the Hotel's fault . However the staff had managed to make a cooked breakfast etc so all was well ! During the day we were informed that we had to move to a different hotel in Stirling (all courtesy of Lochs and Glens) due to the delay of electricity being reinstated .
Back we came on the second morning to be welcomed back by Elaine the Manageress who runs a tight ship ! We had a couple of trips with our driver Dougie "I'm so happy!" who had lots of local knowledge and jokes .
The food was excellent with good service in the dining room , our bedroom was spacious enough for the two of us with a view over the lawn towards the Loch and I cannot praise the company and staff enough for their commitment and service towards their customers . We will definitely travel with Lochs and Glens again . Recommended .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bitthinontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Another annual Christmas visit to Scotland with Lochs and Glens and for the second year in a row staying at Loch Achray this time it had had a spruce up.
During the first night Scotland experienced very high winds and at one point we thought our window was coming into the bedroom. In the morning there was no power or hot water in the hotel and after dressing in the dark we were not expecting any breakfast at all let alone a hot one but Elaine and her team had worked their usual miracles not only were we called in early for breakfast but it was a cooked (Scottish) breakfast and hot porridge as well.
The power remained off for the rest of that day and we were shipped out to another hotel for one night.
When we returned to the hotel and throughout the emergency all staff dealt with any arising situations calmly and efficiently under Elaine's leadership and throughout the holiday we felt that the way it was handled was excellent and caused us only minor inconvenience.
Our experience this holiday only served to endorse our high opinion of Lochs and Glens Holidays and their commitment to make sure everybody has a good time. Far from putting us off we will be returning to Scotland and when we do it will still be with Lochs and Glens

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goodyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We went to Loch Achray in November and were amazed again at what good value this holiday was. Everything ran to plan and once you get on the coach you have nothing to worry about. Lovely hotel and good food and staff were so helpful and lovely. Bedroom a bit small but sufficient. Looking forward to the next tour.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anabella258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Had another great holiday with lochs and glens everything ran to plan from joining the coach, travelling to the hotel and everything else to do with the holiday, staff at the hotel were great with nothing to much trouble for them, bedroom very good and spotless, excursions very good, entertainment was not always to our liking but cant cater for all tastes , will now look forward to our next holiday with lochs and glens

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Another visit to Scotland with Lochs and Glens,staying at their Loch Achray hotel.
This is our third visit here and since the last money has been spent on improving the rooms.
This visit was for one of their Turkey and Mistletoe events,the second day of your stay is
Christmas Day with every thing you would have on the real 25th,second day is New Years Day
The food was excellent and served by great staff
Days out included Edinburgh and a visit to Glamis Castle.
All in all a great five day break!

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front looking down the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have never been on a coach holiday before and were a little apprehensive especially as the price was so low. Having researched other peoples views on Trip Advisor we went for it and we are very glad we did. So many good reviews can't be wrong, yes the bedrooms are a little old fashioned but they are warm, clean and comfortable.
No need for me to repeat what everybody else has said. Thank you to all the kind staff and what wonderful value for money.

Room Tip: Front looks out over lake, rear looks over the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bignic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just returned from my 13th trip. Excellent, Lochs and Glens know their business and great value for money. Drivers and staff are helpful and informative. Never had a complaint. Food is basic but there is choice, lovely breakfast. The whole operation run efficiently without losing the personal touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
678 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
680 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing