We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel”
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our first trip with Lochs & Glens, it certainly won't be the last. Everything about our holiday was excellent. Superb service at all times from all the staff. Food excellent, very nice warm, and clean room. On our return from breakfast each morning the maid had already been to service the room. Something that struck me was, all the staff seemed genuinely happy, and appeared to enjoy their jobs - how unusual is that?! All this and evening entertainment too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    105
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
246
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Just stayed in loch achray hotel with lochs and glens holidays. Can't fault it. The driver was excellent, manager, assistant manager, waiters, waitresses, cleaners, bar staff. All 110%. Can't do enough for you. Bedrooms lovely, food excellent and entertainment good. To be honest I don't know how they do it for the money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Mave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from Loch Achray Hotel. Once again another great Lochs & Glens holiday. Have tried in vain to find something to criticise, but thankfully I can't. The nightly entertainment was very good, enjoyed with some new found friends (The two Jane's always feeling unwell!!). When the drink is sold at a reasonable price without the feeling you are being ripped off, the atmosphere always feels better, well done L&G. The daily excursions were very enjoyable, with visits to Edinburgh and Sterling (A guided tour of Sterling for £3.00, the price of a pint) among them. Finally Bill, our main Coach Driver very informative with good in coach entertainment. Taken for a proper ride with taxi driver home, £19.80 for 6 miles (obviously no tip given, service must have been included). But still arrived home with a smile on my face, thank you once again Lochs & Glens for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Just Book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gatedinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely warm atmosphere. We were welcome by a piper just to start the holiday on the right foot. Right from the start the staff were brilliant. Our room had wi fi & a comfy bed. The food was superb. The evening entertainment was very good. The trips to Stirling,Inversnaid & Callander were very good to.Wonderful coach as well plus our brilliant driver John who was comforted in every think he spoke about

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim284Wallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

went with lochs&glenns for the first time in feb. we were impressed with every aspect of the break from the beginning to the end.we are going again in march to same hotel but different excursions. will recommend the company to all friends & family. keep up the good service

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christiner186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

wonderful holiday, from the moment we boarded the coach everything was efficiently handled, Elaine and her staff treated us exceptionally well, the food was great as was the trips out, our tour guide was wonderful, I recommend this holiday to anyone, especially good value in January, see room tip for further review

Room Tip: this is my 2nd visit to this hotel and as usual it didn,t disappoint, from the moment we arrived the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bladestanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

having just returned from our first trip with a Lochs & Glens coach holiday we can only say it is one of the best breaks we have ever had, the coach was very comfortable and the driver was very funny and informative which made the long journey seem shorter and a joy to travel with. Also the excursions and meals in the hotel were so well organised it was 2nd to none. the staff were friendly and helpful with nothing being to much trouble for them We have travelled to many parts of the world on short and long holidays and can only say if all tour operators were to take a leaf out of Lochs & Glens book there would be fewer complaints. will definitely book with them again and will most certainly recommend them.

Room Tip: You need to take your own shower gel etc but still the most amazing value for money it's a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albarb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
652 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Property: Loch Achray Hotel
Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing