We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lochs and glens trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lochs and glens trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just had a fabulous 5 day 4 night break with Lochs and Glens. This is the fourth trip we have done with them and they never cease to amaze. Hotel perhaps a little tired and sited some distance from the loch, but very pleasant and homely. Room of good size and very clean although poor view. Staff very friendly and helpful. Coach driver, Colin, very knowledgeable. Interesting journeys out and about.

Room Tip: One with a decent view, perhaps on first floor, although there are no lifts .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    103
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
242
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our second holiday with Lochs & Glens - a different hotel but usual high standard. Have to agree with recent comments regarding firm beds and shower. The requested walk-in shower was large enough to move around and provided hot water at a good pressure. Entertainment average at best, one night excellent, one night good but other two poor.A separate questionnaire before departure indicates they may be looking at changing/updating - hope so for future guests. Seating in concert room a little shabby and stained.Staff seemed to double up between dining room and bar service but all very friendly and attentive. Hotel is very remote but after some excellent full day excursions with the very knowledgeable driver Chris it was nice to relax in the lounge - or concert room if it suited. My second positive review for Lochs & Glens and with two more hotels already booked looking forward to offering similar if not better comments.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front offer views across the loch whereas those at the rear look out to trees and high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Esky60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

With Brian C as our driver and his better half Elaine as Hotel Manager where could we go wrong on this Lochs and Glens holiday?! Coach journeys up and back both went smoothly and to time. The hotel is old but well kept; with everywhere spotless. Staff are numerous and friendly. Our room was the one over reception with a bay window with views down the loch - most enjoyable. It was large, clean and well appointed - with a shower just as we had requested. Shame about the beds, which are firm and seem to get firmer the longer you stay! Food was up to the usual high standard; except the chef's special sponges for dessert - quite the driest and worst we have ever come across! Entertainment is adequate if a bit "samey", but it keeps the dancers happy. Regular trips out as usual which were most enjoyable, especially splashing along the flooded roads and loch sides. Yes there was a lot of rain during our stay; but it didn't dampen our spirits. Well done to all involved with the holiday. PS - shame for Brian that Sunderland have done so badly in their two cup matches!

Room Tip: Front and back rooms both have good views at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chalkieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

very good hotel for the price food good and the staff where great from start to finish,home from home will book another holiday soon . views down the lock are great my friends have been on lock and glens holidays before and keep coming back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TERRY576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Visited the hotel between 21st and 27th Feb 2014 with my wife. Service received from all staff could not have been better. Room of a decent size, clean and tidy with great Loch View. One of the Hotels that the view is great at the front or back.

Mealtimes were a pleasure good food and service unable to find any faults. Rooms serviced by the time we returned from breakfast. Hotel was warm and all staff were friendly and helpful. The manager should be proud of her well trained staff.

Hotel is good for walkers, coach parties or self drive.

Have been to hotel several times and am already looking forward to next visit.

Lochs and Glens came up tops again.

Room Tip: Upper floor Loch view best but view at rear of mountains good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jock67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Arrived home on Thursday from our first trip with Lochs and Glens staying at Loch Achray - what a wonderful break we had. The whole service from when we were picked up in our home town to arriving back to our home town was first class. Loch Achray hotel was great, clean, very warm, good food and good company. The staff were excellent, we were welcomed as soon as we arrived by the manager Elaine and when we left we were thanked for coming and hoped that we had had a good time. Our coach driver Macin was brilliant, he looked after us so well,even though the coach had broken down prior to our journey and they had hired a coach which was changed to the proper one on our journey up to Scotland, meaning Macin had to move all the cases over! We had trips out every day included in this holiday and saw some wonderful places and were given so much information as we drove along! There was entertainment in the hotel each night after dinner, some good some not quite so! But all enjoyable. Had not been to Scotland before, but it is beautiful even in the rain, and maybe because of the rain, we saw so many waterfalls, but were lucky to have some sun also! Will certainly use Lochs and Glens again!

Room Tip: Loch Achray is a lovely hotel, views would be great whether you are at the back or front, we were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JanWiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridlington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here over the Xmas Holiday and enjoyed every bit of it ..food was excellent , staff where Polite , this is my 5 th with Locks and Glens , and been happy with each one. would have no hesitation in going again

Room Tip: Try and get front room facing the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Property: Loch Achray Hotel
Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing