We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lochs & glens 6 day break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“lochs & glens 6 day break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Amazing value for money! this was our first trip with lochs & glens & we were a bit dubious about the 12 hour journey. It was much better than anticipated thanks to our driver, Dan. Nothing was too much trouble. Service & food at the hotel were brilliant at all times although some of the entertainment was not up to much. Hotel was very warm & clean & we couldn't fault the maid service. We had a view of the loch with a bath & shower. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a value for money tour of Scotland. Lots of OAPs but its not a stipulation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fayesnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    103
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
242
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

what can I say? this was our third holiday with Lochs & Glens and once again we had a great time.The hotel Achray is a lovely building,in a lovely location ,right beside Loch Achray with a mountain behind it.
The hotel staff were all very efficient and friendly,and the meals were excellent.There was a large selection for breakfast,including a great Scottish fry up.The evening three course meals were also very good,with plenty of selection.
We were in room 44,it was a lovely room,clean,the bed was very comfortable,and the bathroom was excellent with a very efficient shower,The only problem we had with the room was the room above us had creaking floorboards and it was noisy when the people in there moved about,but having said that , it did not spoil our enjoyment at all.
The trips out, organised by Lochs &Glens,were great ,something different every time.
I must at this point mention our coach driver, Kevin Kent,what a nutcase!!! he truly made our holiday,he was so funny and very knowledgeable,basically,about everthing,his driving was excellent.One more thing,if you have Kevin as a driver,do not hesitate to use Kevins Kaff.
If you have the chance to go on a Lochs &Glens holiday do not hesitate,as it is great value ,and I don't know how they do it for the noney.

Room Tip: front or rear of the hotel have great outlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diydaveluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

the Loch Achray hotel is situated a few meters from the loch itself, with amazing views of the surrounding countryside, on approaching the hotel by coach we were amazed at the size of it but when you step inside and are greeted by the staff,IE management bar staff cleaners in fact all employees you soon realise that this is one of the Loch and Glens hotels that you are used to, one big happy family. Our room was large with a double and single bed, immaculate bathroom very well presented ,room cleaned every morning lift to upper floors,restaurant area spotlessly clean, serving staff again a credit to the company,the food whilst very good was in some cases a little bit wanting ?, entertainment very good ,great variety of music and comedy .all in all again a fantastic time was had and I doff my cap to Lochs and Glens.. finally our driver, I cant sign off without a mention of Dean this driver has helped in my opinion to make lochs and glens what they are today thank you very much Dean for making a great holiday even better. Tom and Lesley thanks pal...

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be of the same standard front rooms have the loch view ,rear rooms have the amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank catskittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Iam just home from a very nice and friendley ceilidh break and a
very nice and warm hotel the Loch Achray hotel is so lovely and warm
the friendley staff and management of the hotel and the rooms are all nice and
cleaned and the food is so nice and a good slection of food to choose from the menu
the Intertainment is very good to i would recomend the ceilidh and the two teaching dancers.
I would recomend going to this hotel againg to eneyone and the lovely Loch and glens holiday.

Room Tip: If you chooase or get a room at the front then you will get a very nice view of Loch Achray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife saw the trip in a local paper and we decided to go, a coach holiday not being something we had considered before, what a wonderful trip we had, from the time I got on the coach to the time I got off did not have to think about a thing the accommodation and food was first class, the entertainment provided, not really to my taste but that a minor point - I dont know ho they do it fo the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just had a few days at the Loch Achray Hotel in the Trossachs, what more can you say about the staff and the Hotel that has not been said by those that have enjoyed their stay with them, the rooms are spotless, the staff are very friendly and work to a very high standard, only thing that was a bit of a pain was the shower,,, it was a little bit on the slow side ,but other than that no room problems, food was fine with a nice choice , the enterainment was from good local talent, the last we done must go to Peter the coach driver, and the other drivers that drove on our day trip out
Well done Lochs and Glens another great trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KingsLynnPiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Last weekend my wife and I had our first break away with Lochs and Glens at The Achray Hotel. Five days four nights half board, excellent food and accommodation, brilliant staff and Peter our driver couldn't have been more helpful and informative. Will definitely use them again, nothing but praise for the excellent service they provided. Well done L and G keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Lovely room on the loch side of the hotel, we asked for and got a room on the top floor away from sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Property: Loch Achray Hotel
Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing