We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant location”
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“brilliant location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just had a 4 day break self drive at the Achray hotel.A lovely hotel set in lovely grounds with beautiful views and their own highland cattle . The rooms are lovely, warm and cosy. The staff are very nice and friendly and excellent service in the dining room , couldn't fault it . Excellent value for money . The Achray Hotel is situated in a great place for walkers , with moderate routes , Ben Venue , loch Katrine and Ben A an all within walking distance. I would certainly visit again and hope to visit the rest of the loch and glens hotels in the future.

Room Tip: A room to the front overlooks the loch o
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    105
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
246
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we visited Loch Achray as self drive passengers after having been on a Lochs and Glens coach holiday last month. The food, service cannot be faulted. yes it is aimed at coach parties so you have to go into meals at set times but we dont have a problem with that. all staff are friendly and attentive to your care - it feels like nothing would be too much bother for them. we will be back as soon as we can

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ienjoymyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withernsea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

thank you lochs&glens we have just returned from the loch achray every aspect of the holiday was excellent from the cleaners to the waiters nothing was too much trouble.the driver Michael was very helpful and the relief driver eddie was helpful too.our room was 131 very nice but the floorboards did creek.we have already booked to go to the ardgarton in june cant wait!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is the 4th time w have been to The Loch Achray Hotel.As usual Elaine and all her staff where welcoming and thorough in everything they do.The room we got was large with a lovely en-suite bathroom.The food was hot and fresh with an abundance of choices.The trips out included on this tour make it exceptional value for money.In fact the new brochure is out soon for next year and we are going to book straight away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patd1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our first time on a Lochs & Glens break so did not know quite what to expect however we should not have been concerned as It was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish. The check in upon arrival at Loch Achray was quick and easy which was appreciated after our 12 hour journey. Our room was warm and cosy with a view of the Loch and walk in shower and very well maintained each day.
The staff and management were all friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was very good with a wide choice at breakfast and dinner. I can certainly recommend the porridge at breakfast followed by the full Scottish.
The entertainment was a bit samey except for the highland dancers on the final night.
All in all this was an excellent break, very good value and we shall certainly be returning on a future Lochs & Glens break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CrichtonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Amazing value for money! this was our first trip with lochs & glens & we were a bit dubious about the 12 hour journey. It was much better than anticipated thanks to our driver, Dan. Nothing was too much trouble. Service & food at the hotel were brilliant at all times although some of the entertainment was not up to much. Hotel was very warm & clean & we couldn't fault the maid service. We had a view of the loch with a bath & shower. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a value for money tour of Scotland. Lots of OAPs but its not a stipulation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fayesnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

what can I say? this was our third holiday with Lochs & Glens and once again we had a great time.The hotel Achray is a lovely building,in a lovely location ,right beside Loch Achray with a mountain behind it.
The hotel staff were all very efficient and friendly,and the meals were excellent.There was a large selection for breakfast,including a great Scottish fry up.The evening three course meals were also very good,with plenty of selection.
We were in room 44,it was a lovely room,clean,the bed was very comfortable,and the bathroom was excellent with a very efficient shower,The only problem we had with the room was the room above us had creaking floorboards and it was noisy when the people in there moved about,but having said that , it did not spoil our enjoyment at all.
The trips out, organised by Lochs &Glens,were great ,something different every time.
I must at this point mention our coach driver, Kevin Kent,what a nutcase!!! he truly made our holiday,he was so funny and very knowledgeable,basically,about everthing,his driving was excellent.One more thing,if you have Kevin as a driver,do not hesitate to use Kevins Kaff.
If you have the chance to go on a Lochs &Glens holiday do not hesitate,as it is great value ,and I don't know how they do it for the noney.

Room Tip: front or rear of the hotel have great outlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diydaveluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Property: Loch Achray Hotel
Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing