We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visit Scotland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
northhamptonshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First time visit Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Arrived after a 10 hour journey but with 4 stops, so not too bad. Lovely countryside and Lochs are spectacular. Top marks to Lochs and Glens for making our 6 day coach holiday so good with trips every day. Hotel lovely and clean room good and food very good with plenty of choice. And a big thank you to our driver Peter who always had a smile and a joke and new all about Scotland even though he came from Fleetwood, and we all got on. Hotel staff all friendly and polite in a fantastic location and weather was hot and sunny all week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toakley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    102
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
239
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from our first lochs and glens holiday to the loch achray hotel. Was a little worried about going as went with our in-laws and thought we were a little on the young side for a "coaching holiday" - how wrong were we!!! We have had an amazing time, the hotel is superb in a fantastic location, staff are lovely and friendly - nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are a good size, clean and very comfortable and the views over the loch are breathtaking! Food is also excellent with a great choice to choose from. The entertainment wasn't really our thing but this was purely down to our personal taste but our inlaws loved it! The excursions are great value for money and our driver Michael was wonderful and very informative with a great sense of humour! We were referred to as "the young uns" by the rest of our coach party which my husband and I loved as we are in our very early 50's!!! Can honestly say this is up there with our best holidays and will definitely be booking 1 again with lochs and glens!

Room Tip: Once you have booked through lochs and glens ring the hotel and request a room over looking the loch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

A coach full of people from Polegate visited loch achray with lochs and glens holidays. We are all known to each other. The hotel was lovely. The food was good as was the entertainment. I recommend. We went as part of a coach holiday and enjoyed daily trips. We were on a half board basis and had a variety of well cooked meals during our stay. Only downside was the midges.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanarmon-yn-Ial, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a lovely little hotel overlooking the loch. Fantastic area. People are lovely in all the little towns. Staff in hotel very friendly. And the food is awsome. Had a smashing birthday weekend here, there are some lovely walks around here and the weather has been sunny the whole weekend. Would highly recommend the Achray hotel to everyone

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmileyTwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lucky enough to travel here as part of a Lochs and Glens 5 day coach holiday and unable to fault a thing.
The hotel is exceptional with a panoramic view from the front door overlooking fields with lovely highland cattle (owned by the hotel), Loch Achray and the misty mountains behind.
The bedroom had plenty of room and a lovely view.
The shower was great with comfortably warm water, you just have to wait a few moments for it to heat up.
The room was cleaned with fresh towels daily and coffee and tea always kept refilled.
The restaurant included breakfast and dinner and each day there was something new to try. The meals where three courses and delicious, served quickly and all the staff helpful and polite.
I had a relative call from Australia and they came to get me in the dining room to make sure I didn't miss the call.
This was my first time to Scotland and genuinely believe the experience I had through travelling with Lochs and Glens and Loch Achray Hotel helped secure my love for this country.
Special mention must go to our amazing driver Francis, who through his knowledge and stories of the land, really bought to life the magic of Scotland.

Room Tip: We where on ground floor with a window facing the cattle field which was lovely if you could secure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 667334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just been on a five day break with the owners of this hotel Lochs and Glens. Incredible value for money for the whole break but for what we paid didn't expect a great hotel. What a gem this is, glorious location, very comfortable, excellent food and the most efficient service with very friendly staff you could possibly wish for. OK we were on a coach tour and therefore meal times were very rigid but the service was therefore so good it wasn't a problem. Interestingly although management is Scottish, the staff are a positive United Nations, from Hungary, Lithuania, Rumania etc. and each and every one of them did their utmost to make life good for their guests, they were a great team and a great asset to this hotel..........wonder why there weren't any Scots in this team???!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Front is highland cows and loch, back is mountains - you can't lose
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joanna390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just had a 4 day break self drive at the Achray hotel.A lovely hotel set in lovely grounds with beautiful views and their own highland cattle . The rooms are lovely, warm and cosy. The staff are very nice and friendly and excellent service in the dining room , couldn't fault it . Excellent value for money . The Achray Hotel is situated in a great place for walkers , with moderate routes , Ben Venue , loch Katrine and Ben A an all within walking distance. I would certainly visit again and hope to visit the rest of the loch and glens hotels in the future.

Room Tip: A room to the front overlooks the loch o
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Property: Loch Achray Hotel
Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing