We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual food”
Review of Forth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forth Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Forth Inn was one option for our tour bus stop in Aberfoyle. The basics - fish and chips and mac and cheese for a decent price. We tried a fabulous Swedish cider to wash it down. You order at the bar and you pay at the bar, although they find you to bring the food out. Crowded and tight as many places are, you sit where you can and share a table if needed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmf22purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stopped in this pub during a tour, and we found it very nice.
The service was not very fast, but the food was good and the home lager was very good and tasty.
Pity that we did not had the time to savor fully the food and the beer

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

stopped in here for lunch on a bus tour during busy lunch hour. The place has a very nice, relaxing vibe to it. The manager or owner(not sure which) was observed going around to the tables asking people if they were having a good lunch, took some photos I believe he said for their facebook page. Had a steak pie with chips and it was delish. Nice and hot, perfectly seasoned, with a nice crispy puff pastry. Fast and efficient and everyone that I was on the tour with seemed to also agree.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stopped in for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. Fantastic pub grub and reasonably priced. We ended up going back for dinner too. Staff were very friendly and the pub had a great atmosphere. Will definitely go back and would like to stay next time.

Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We descended on forth inn for family gathering from 5 month old to great grand parents, 14 of us all together , everyone had a great time . Food was exceptional , and we all loved the curry night on Saturday with everything being made from scratch even the nan bread and chapattis . phill is a great Host , every member of staff was exceptional , nothing was a problem to them friendly and great service . You can tell that they all enjoy their jobs , special thank to Peter .

Room Tip: All rooms were great , but room 2 had its own access and balcony , if you are a smoker this is the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Does exactly what it says on the tin. Good quality pub grub. Great burgers but a tad pricey. House lager is really good but the fresh orange and lemonade wasn't the best. A good atmosphere (despite a rowdy (female) football fan) and suitable for all ages!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Kenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

During a recent visit to Scotland and to The Forth Inn, I was extremely impressed by the service and friendliness of all the staff. We arrived really late at night (after 11pm) we were greeted with huge smiles and they were actually worried about us as we were late! The food is incredible, everything is cooked to order and home cooked (how dare someone compare this to Wetherspoons? what? you must be joking!) Breakfast was also amazing! A wonderful weekend and will be sure to visit this beautiful part of Scotland again and for years to come! Staff will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is an incredible experience and the rooms are beautiful too. Not to be missed!!!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a super kingsize bed! Room 1 has access to the balcony. All rooms are en-suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
0.8 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
702 reviews
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Corrie Glen Bed & Breakfast
8.9 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
1,470 reviews
7.7 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 34 in Callander
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forth Inn

Address: Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Forth Hotel Aberfoyle
Forth Inn Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing