We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out”

The Lodge Forest Visitor Centre
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful scenery, walks and activities and very interesting information in the visitor centre and cameras on the Ospreys nesting

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teadancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    64
    21
    14
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went with grandparents and small kids on a rainy day great nature play accessible trail and hide can't wait to go back when the sun is out everyone from old oldest to youngest loved it :-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank boysneedouttoplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“watch out for parking charges and pricey food/drinks!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Rather disappointed with our visit - we were going to meet with our son as he was visiting GO APE with some friends.
Parking signage not clear and as we had parked on a clearing down a track as they were no marked spaces available and there was no ticket machine visible we didn't get a ticket and when we returned to our car we had received a parking ticket!!
Had a lovely lunch in the café when my husband had a pot of tea costing £2.10. Later we returned for a drink. My husband ordered tea for two and was charged £2.30 - same pot of tea for 1 but with 2 cups!! 20p extra for a cup!!
Such a lovely location - but don't think we will be returning.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ELLEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good trails”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good choice of trails of different levels and length. We took the red trail (about 4 miles) and climbed up to the top through the forest and had glorious views of the surrounding countryside, well worth it. Nice ice creams from the shop.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great ourdoor centre”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This light, airy, modern space, with its fabulous views and excellent catering, is beautifully designed and highly informative. The staff were enthusiastic and interested in our views. After our first visit, we returned for a few days later, so complete all the well-marked walking trails. The walk up the Dukes pass was stunning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lodge Forest Visitor Centre also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to The Lodge Forest Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing