We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duchray Castle
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$861
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Camp Hotel(Callander)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
77
2
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
2
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall weddingintimate weddingcatering companyeach morningthe perfect hostfrancesceremonyvenueguestsscotland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Excellent location a couple of miles from Aberfoyle, we stayed in the Tower room which is well appointed and offers some nice views from bed in the morning over the Trossachs. We really appreciated breakfast at 9 - it irks us somewhat when we stay somewhere that insists on serving breakfast only between 7 and 8.

Room Tip: Tower room has great views & shower
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was a great place to stay. As the name suggests, it is a converted castle which gives it an amazing ambience. It is a bit hidden off the main road but the drive is well worth it. We enjoyed the interesting castle surroundings and the castle itself. It is worth taking a walk around the gardens too. Great breakfast and we were given help on surroundings, things to do, and restaurants nearby. As you can imagine the access to rooms is tricky and up narrow stairs given the castle legacy so this may be difficult if mobility is an issue for you. Overall, I would highly recommend it as a place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger_Ninja_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I booked the Carr room for one night and really wish we had stayed two. It's a little out of the way, but truly worth the trip. It's located in the middle of the forest, on a hill above a stream that you can hear as you fall asleep. Much of the original architecture was maintained, but the upgrades are all five star. It's an amazing little retreat that provides a much needed respite for any traveler who is making their way around Scotland. It's quiet and beautiful and would be best served if you could stay for two nights and take advantage of the serenity. I'm telling you this because I wish that's what I had done. Frances even said that most people who only stay one night leave wishing they'd stayed two. So here's fair warning. Book two nights. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Book at least two nights.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bositree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Duchray Castle for one night but wished we'd booked for longer - it's tucked away in an absolutely magical location, and the interior really lives up to the setting. So much care and attention has been put into the rooms, with comfy beds, beautiful furnishings, a great shower and even some Tunnock's Teacakes! There's also a lovely guest living room with sofas, books and a wood burning stove. The attention to detail continues at breakfast, where there's a lovely range of local produce available. It's worth mentioning that if you let them know, you can bring your own picnic dinner and eat it in the dining room - there aren't a lot of places to eat out in Aberfoyle and you won't want to leave the castle anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I planned the trip for my daughter's 17th birthday as a surprise and the excellent service we experienced from Frances and Oliver began well before we actually arrived. They went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us and my daughter was totally overwhelmed with the lovely venue, flowers, personalised birthday cake and outstanding warmth of good wishes. Our rooms were just perfect - the recent renovations have been well thought out and the attention to detail is simply above and beyond any place I have visited. Sitting in the lounge on an evening made us feel like Lords and Ladies of Duchray!! We loved the locally sourced products which ranged from preserves, yoghurts, toiletries and even the wall decorations, all promoting local small businesses but enhancing the castle at the same time. The building itself is delightful and coupled with the history contained within it made for an amazing few days for all. It is a stunning display of what can be created with a little vision and creativity, so much so that we have spent the day of our return googling old castles for sale!!!
A million thankyous to Frances, Oliver and their team for making it a birthday to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuandHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews