We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb”
Review of Duchray Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duchray Castle
Ranked #6 of 9 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

With the beautiful setting in a forest next to a river, the historic castle and yet all new and comfortable fittings inside, this was the perfect place to start our honeymoon! Frances gave us a warm welcome and was happy to suggest things to do and places to eat. We enjoyed the breakfasts made of local ingredients and everything was done to a high standard from food to housekeeping.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just a one night stop in our 5 day tour of the Trossachs and Isle of Mull, but the best night of the lot. Friendly welcome from Frances and a location to die for. Wonderful atmosphere with the turret bedroom and living room retaining their original charm. For those who want to add a touch of class to their trip in the Trossachs, look no further.

Room Tip: We had a family of 4 stay in the Rob Roy Suite. A wonderful 4 poster bed for mum and dad, and 2 smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenStirrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Not only was the castle and the castle grounds absolutely stunning but Francis, Oliver and all the staff went above and beyond to make our stay special. My husband and I got married on July 9th and it couldn't have been more perfect. Francis was more than helpful with any questions we had the year leading up to the wedding and even fixed our wedding cake as she wasn't happy with the writing on it when it was delivered. Not only was the entire castle beautifully decorated but the food prepared by Francis was worth every penny spent. We will definitely be coming back here if we ever make it back to Scotland! I would recommend this location to absolutely anyone looking for a stay. Our only regret was not staying longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krissy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A group of us went for a weekend and i have nothing but praise for Francis and her staff. We were made very welcome, the accommodation and breakfast were 1st class. It was a lovely experience and one that i would like to have again.
Thank you to Frances and Oliver and all the staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I got Married at Duchray Castle on the 31 May 2014, we were blessed with fantastic sunny weather and the old castle and the grounds were a perfect background for our photographs. Francis was brilliant from the first email we sent to enquire about having it there, she put us in touch with the local registrar and photographers. We had the ceremony in the room they call the cript and she laid it out in a traditional setting with an aisle, after the ceremony she changed it back around as due to the wedding being only a small affair, she had offered to prepare an evening meal for us all, and I must say she spent the whole Saturday preparing and cooking everything from scratch, then she and her staff served and stayed on until late into the evening to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was amazing......We were fortunate had the entire place to ourselves and our guests and were made to feel at ease with any requests, such as putting our beer, wine and Champagne in the hotel fridges, one of the things we found is that due to not having a licence to sell alcohol we could take what we liked...... and we did. The rooms were fantastic, especially the Rob Roy Macgregor Honeymoon suite. Francis accommodated us with an extra bed in one of the rooms my kids had. All of them had there own special feel to them and they all had great views to look up on. The rooms were spotless, and our bathroom was fantastic. All we can say is that we had a perfect weekend and we can't thank Francis and her team enough on making our day even more special.

Room Tip: The Rob Roy MacGregor suite is a must for those wanting that little bit more special/Romantic feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merchantofwraysbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our stay here was absolutely perfect. I loved the secluded location where all you could see was the beautiful forest and hear the birds chirping. The grounds of the castle were great to wander around and the inside was beautifully updated and restored. The rooms were clean and very nice. It was comfortable and yet still had an air of history. The breakfast in the morning was all local and delicious. The owners were friendly and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our time there. I wish we would have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Duchray Castle for the first few days of our honeymoon, and actually joined Tripadvisor just to rave about our lovely time spent there. We stayed in the Rob Roy MacGregor honeymoon suite on the top floor of the castle and it was perfect. The room had a beautiful four poster bed, beautifully co-ordinated fabrics with a contemporary Scottish twist and panoramic views of the beautiful grounds. The bathroom with the amazing bath, his and hers sinks and huge shower again made us go WOW!

Before our stay we didn't realise that Frances and Oliver had completely renovated the castle themselves which added even more to it's charm. They have kept the original features and beauty of the building but the addition of their wonderful furnishings gives it a luxurious, up-to date feel. The choice of artwork around the castle by a local artist adds a lovely personal, contemporary touch, as do the Arran Aromatic toiletries in the bathrooms. Breakfast was delicious and Frances took a lot of care and time to make sure we had everything we needed. Having a range of local produce such as jams and yoghurts really added to the experience. Being from Edinburgh we were amazed at how far away from home we felt, it was so peaceful and really is a hidden gem.

Oliver and Frances have added so many lovely personal touches to the castle and every single one adds to the experience- teacakes in the bedrooms, popping my bouquet in a vase whilst we were out and letting us borrow from their collection of DVDs. We felt so welcome and at home. We will be back!

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend the Rob Roy MacGregor room- perfect for honeymoons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceac-rjlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
19.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.4 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
685 reviews
8.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duchray Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duchray Castle

Address: Duchray Castle Duchray Road, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3XL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Price Range: £75 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duchray Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Queen Elizabeth Forest lies Duchray Castle, a 500 year old tower house linked with Rob Roy. Now newly renovated it offers luxury accommodation and a warm welcome in a stunning, secluded location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duchray Castle Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing