We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duchray Castle
Nearby Hotels
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Camp Hotel(Callander)
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
77
2
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
2
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall weddingintimate weddingcatering companyeach morningthe perfect hostfrancesceremonyvenueguestsscotland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My daughter’s wedding took place at Duchray Castle last weekend with us having exclusive use of the Castle (including all four bedrooms) from 4 o’clock on Friday until 12 noon on Sunday.

It was a very memorable occasion in what is certainly an excellent venue and beautiful setting for a wedding. Everything went very smoothly and was thoroughly enjoyed by all the guests, helped in no small way by the highly professional and unobtrusive efforts of Frances and her staff.

We used a number of the wedding suppliers recommended by Frances on her website and all of them came up trumps on the day.

All in all I cannot recommend Duchray Castle highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank almara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

So, you are a young, seemingly very well-educated and very classy couple about to embark on starting a family when your dream property hits the market - a run down 16th century estate smack dab in the middle a national forest park. Well, apparently you make a low ball offer and its accepted, then you pour your heart and soul into the place to make it what it needs to be - incredibly special. Over four years and two kids later Duchray is that very special place in a very unique and special location.

But that isn't what makes this wonderful property a unique experience - nope, that would be Frances and Oliver and their very apparent passion for creating a first class experience for guests. They have basically rebuilt this property from the ground up to include three guest rooms, a common room and dining room. They have done a brilliant job, and continue to work on various aspects of the property as I write this!

This couple only wants guests to enjoy an exceptional experience - and they work incredibly hard to get that done. The room amenities were wonderful, the grounds beautiful, common areas very comfortable and breakfast excellent. I hope Frances can keep it up because she is a brilliant host, start to finish. The trick now is to get our 24 yo daughter to plan a destination wedding at Duchray. Hope so!

Room Tip: Rob Roy Suite was over the top great.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

With the beautiful setting in a forest next to a river, the historic castle and yet all new and comfortable fittings inside, this was the perfect place to start our honeymoon! Frances gave us a warm welcome and was happy to suggest things to do and places to eat. We enjoyed the breakfasts made of local ingredients and everything was done to a high standard from food to housekeeping.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just a one night stop in our 5 day tour of the Trossachs and Isle of Mull, but the best night of the lot. Friendly welcome from Frances and a location to die for. Wonderful atmosphere with the turret bedroom and living room retaining their original charm. For those who want to add a touch of class to their trip in the Trossachs, look no further.

Room Tip: We had a family of 4 stay in the Rob Roy Suite. A wonderful 4 poster bed for mum and dad, and 2 smaller fold out beds for kids aged 7 and 13. The bathroom was stunning, with a stand alone bath and excellent rain shower.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenStirrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Not only was the castle and the castle grounds absolutely stunning but Francis, Oliver and all the staff went above and beyond to make our stay special. My husband and I got married on July 9th and it couldn't have been more perfect. Francis was more than helpful with any questions we had the year leading up to the wedding and even fixed our wedding cake as she wasn't happy with the writing on it when it was delivered. Not only was the entire castle beautifully decorated but the food prepared by Francis was worth every penny spent. We will definitely be coming back here if we ever make it back to Scotland! I would recommend this location to absolutely anyone looking for a stay. Our only regret was not staying longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krissy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews