We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wee stop off point”

The Scottish Wool Centre
Ranked #5 of 11 things to do in Aberfoyle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent wee stop off point”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Whether your heading for the Trossachs or coming from the Trossachs en route to Loch Lomond this place is perfect for a nosey round the shop or a bite to eat and a drink... Staff are excellent! Lots of local resident who love you to say hello too... Sheep, miniature horses and sheep dog:)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank highlandreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    64
    31
    14
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A great quaint and lovely village, the sheep trail was informative and very enjoyable with an Italian ( Ricardo) as the shepherd, he had a good knowledge of the different sheep and had some playful banter with audience. The shop was full of very good items and at some reasonable prices, the café was reasonable and has a picnic area for your own food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Visited whilst on holiday, had sheep dog trials outside, once inside had a good section of clothes and other woolen items some at very reasonable prices. Well worth a visit when in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Bargains To Be Had”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I know a lot of places are real tourist traps unfortunately, and there are a couple in Aberfoyle but the Wool Centre is really good.
Outside there are sheep and ducks and when we went there was display with a shepherd (from a local farm?) and his lovely dog who skillfully steered the noisy ducks around the obstacles. Good fun.
Despite being normally quite expensive items we did manage to bag quite a few bargains inside, I can't vouch if this is always the case but we did buy fleecy blankets and jackets for really decent prices - considering the expense of life these days I was very chuffed!
There is lots to temp the shopper and not at rip off prices which has to be the best thing about it! Next time we visit though we're definitely going to the tearoom as the food looked great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwoIfBySea_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“cracking little tearoom”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My boyfriend and I visited here for breakfast, as recommended to us by a nearby hotel.

They do a cooked breakfast, any 6 items for £5.95, and it's buy one get one free, daily, till 11.30am. A real bargain.

They also had lovely cakes, very large, a huge scone with jam, and a huge coconut slice were our choices.

The cafe is inside a Wool Centre, with lots of traditional Scottish quality goods. Also, there are various activities going on outside, working sheepdogs rounding up Indian Runner Ducks.

Also, Jacob Sheep that children can stroke, and there is an outdoor hand washing facility.

All in all a lovely place to stop off if you are in the area touring the Trossachs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottishlassie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scottish Wool Centre also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Scottish Wool Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing