We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different species of sheep & open countryside”

The Scottish Wool Centre
Ranked #5 of 11 things to do in Aberfoyle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Different species of sheep & open countryside”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stopped here on our way to Loch Katrine. There were lots of different sheep grazing, ducks and a cute small horses. The wool centre has lots of woolen clothes, gifts and souveniers, definetely worth a visit. Then we went for a walk, climbing Doon Hill and Fairy Knowe all with good views. Doon Hill Fairy Trail is exceptional. Here there are lots of oak trees where people place many rags in the hope that as the cloutie rots the illness or misfortunate affecting the person on who's behalf the cloutie was placed would also vanish. So we also tied 2 pieces of rags around the trees and said our wishes, hoping they would come true. :) Near the Wool centre is a tourist information centre where they will be more than happy to help you and give you a map about the walk, don't miss it, it's really interesting and great fun! ;)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa-Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    63
    29
    14
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent wee stop off point”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Whether your heading for the Trossachs or coming from the Trossachs en route to Loch Lomond this place is perfect for a nosey round the shop or a bite to eat and a drink... Staff are excellent! Lots of local resident who love you to say hello too... Sheep, miniature horses and sheep dog:)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank highlandreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A great quaint and lovely village, the sheep trail was informative and very enjoyable with an Italian ( Ricardo) as the shepherd, he had a good knowledge of the different sheep and had some playful banter with audience. The shop was full of very good items and at some reasonable prices, the café was reasonable and has a picnic area for your own food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Visited whilst on holiday, had sheep dog trials outside, once inside had a good section of clothes and other woolen items some at very reasonable prices. Well worth a visit when in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Bargains To Be Had”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I know a lot of places are real tourist traps unfortunately, and there are a couple in Aberfoyle but the Wool Centre is really good.
Outside there are sheep and ducks and when we went there was display with a shepherd (from a local farm?) and his lovely dog who skillfully steered the noisy ducks around the obstacles. Good fun.
Despite being normally quite expensive items we did manage to bag quite a few bargains inside, I can't vouch if this is always the case but we did buy fleecy blankets and jackets for really decent prices - considering the expense of life these days I was very chuffed!
There is lots to temp the shopper and not at rip off prices which has to be the best thing about it! Next time we visit though we're definitely going to the tearoom as the food looked great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwoIfBySea_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scottish Wool Centre also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Scottish Wool Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing