We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scottish Wool Centre

The Scottish Wool Centre
Ranked #6 of 11 things to do in Aberfoyle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We called in to look at shop and bought some real bargains. Saved a lot of money as we bought items reduced in sale. The added entertainment of the duck round up was a real bonus.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josephine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    52
    27
    13
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Just another tourist shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Some people here criticize the shop, but let's assure them: I've seen worse shops in the area. If you must buy a souvenir for your loved ones at home, it's a good location with ample free parking spaces. And it's much cheaper than in the posh souvenir shops at Glasgow Airport. Furthermore there are more articles available than in many other wool centers. So give it a try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnny19039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“exspensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

nice shop ,well laid out with lots of really chunky sweaters, i didnt buy anything as anyone with any savvy would see its all overpriced.pity i really liked the fur logger hats.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not been for some time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

About 12 months ago I visited the Scottish Wool Shop at Aberfoyle. Lovely and clean but sometimes a little difficult to find what you are looking for. Being into classical and 60's music, their selection of CD's suited me and at 3 for £10, a bargain. Again on the plus side was the 'cafe' area which was again spotless and the food was good and at a reasonable price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Embarrassing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I live nearby and I must say I am totally embarrassed by the Wool Centre. The prices are three times higher than average, and it appears run down and badly in need of modernisation. The worst part though is the cafe. The food is a disgrace, over priced and quite frankly barely edible. The hot plate has food on it which is shrivelled, over cooked and of a very poor standard. The cafe needs a complete overhaul. It is really sad that this is what tourists are being offered under the guise of Scottish Cuisine! Cafe best avoided!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb0rahMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scottish Wool Centre also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Scottish Wool Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing