We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, cosy cottage affording beautiful views...”
other travellers have booked this property
Soak up the views from the outdoor seating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Soak up the views from the outdoor seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Soak up the views from the outdoor seating area
Newly refitted kitchen December 2013
Kestrel and Buzzard cottage
From the lounge to the kitchen
Arran Aromatics for all guests
From the dining room to the outdoors
The wood burner - Oh so cosy after a day in the hills!
Fantastic Hikes
Springtime at Kestrel cottage
The Lake of Menteith from the Nether Glenny Estate
Take a hike here from Kestrel's front door
Walk to Loch Venachar from your cottage door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David N
Wolfville, Canada
1 review
“Lovely, cosy cottage affording beautiful views over Lake of Menteith.”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Over from Canada for a family wedding, we were fortunate to stay at Kestrel Cottage for 4 nights. We enjoyed meeting Alison who was very hospitable and helpful. The cottage was laid out very well, we particularly liked the bathroom and kitchen. The log burning stove was a definite plus, as was the Wi-Fi. Despite the fact that there were 3 children in the adjoining cottage, we didn't hear them. We loved the peace and quiet. The two communities of Callandar and Aberfoyle are within easy driving distance, both providing good shops and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely, clean cottage with gorgeous views.
Liked least: The foldaway bed/couch in sitting room was not too comfy to sit on. Cushions kept moving around.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It is helpful for other guests to know that there are sometimes children staying in the large cottage. It's important to add that although the cottages are adjoining, there is a large tool shed in between them and of course the walls are very thick stone. We have never had a noise issue at Glenny and pride ourselves on providing a place of peace and tranquility. Best wishes, Alison and Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123tsmith
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a spectacular setting”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just a wonderful place to stay.
Alison is so helpful without being intrusive.Our first time to visit Scotland and it captured our hearts! From the first glimpse of sunrise to the final sunset the views from the cottage are spectacular

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
So glad you enjoyed the sunrises and sunsets. This week they have been particularly stunning.
Best wishes, Alison and Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gkuhns
Mesopotamia, Ohio
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay and do day trips from.”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The hosts were pleasant and helpful but respectfully allowed us our space. Kestrel Cottage has been renovated recently and everything is kept spotless and beautiful. The cottage is located in the quiet hills above Lake Menteith, a short drive from Sterling and only a bit over an hour to see the sights in both Edinburgh and Glasgow.
We even did a day trip through Inverness to the wonderful little sea port town of Ullapool.
Kestrel Cottage was spotless when we arrived and the kitchen was equipped well enough to do some light cooking. Some mornings were chilly but the fireplace did a wonderful job of warming things up.
We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking for a place to spend a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness of cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Hello and thank you for your lovely feedback. Both Matthew and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that Kestrel was all that you had hoped. I have relayed your comments about the temperature to Mathew and we will adjust the heating accordingly. Although beautiful outside it's getting chillier. Very best wishes to you both. Alison and Matthew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo S
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely wee gem in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from a very relaxing 4 night break in this lovely little gem of a cottage. Beautifully refurbished modern well equipped kitchen and lovely bathroom with Arran Aromatic toiletries. A very peaceful location. . It was great to return to the cosy woodburning stove after a day of walking. So many fab walks to do nearby. Alison the owner greeted us with fluffy robes and saw us off with a pot of Nether Glenny damson jam. Delightful! Highlly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
So very pleased to hear this great review of our Kestrel cottage. I hope you enjoyed the damson jam and I must get about making another batch as we are totally out! It's also good to hear you mention the bathroom luxuries as this is something I really enjoy supplying for our guests. Very best wishes and we hope to welcome you back one day. The NG Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would certainly recommend Kestrel Cottage”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were delighted with Kestrel cottage. Perfect for two. A newly fitted kitchen and bathroom. Well decorated and clean throughout with central heating. A very pleasant conservatory and outside seating area had fabulous views. The wood burning stove made it very cosy in the evening. A bonus having Wifi.
The owners Alison and Matthew were very friendly and made us welcome.
A wonderful area to explore and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you for this informative review. I was grateful that you mentioned the outdoor seating area with magnificent views as I believe that this is Kestrel's most delightful feature. It was one of the reasons that I invested in some comfortable cushioned chairs that are indoor/ outdoor. Every guest, in fair weather, should sit outside and soak up those views with morning coffee or a glass of wine after a day in the hills. Best wishes to you from the NG team and thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix_D...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect spot for a peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We wanted a quiet space to escape for our first ever trip to Scotland. We trawled through so many different cottages and evetually settled on Kestrel Cottage. Not only did the cottage have stunning views across the Lake of Mentieth, it was also recently refurbished with a well equipped kitchen -- this was great for us as we love to cook - especially with two good butchers in nearby Aberfoyle. I had hoped to get somewhere tucked away and this certainly was -- you are right on top of a hill, nice walking all around and of course those super views - I spent most of my time looking out through binoculars.

Lots to do in the local area - provided you like the outdoors life. We brought our kayak with us which gave us access to all kinds of fun, the Lochs in the area are glorious and it's where we ended up spending most of our time. Stirling is not that far away and if you are into your history, the castle is worth a visit.

The hosts at Kestrel gave us a warm welcome and then were brilliantly perceptive to realise we were keen to be left on our own and they did just that which was great. The cottage itself had plenty of local guides and they'd thoughtfully provided a OS map (we'd brought our own) - but I really thought this was a nice touch. Well decorated and a comfortable bed... all great!

We would certainly go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the kitchen!
Liked least: the sofa - I had a tendecy to slide off it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
This really is a helpful review, thank you. I am glad that you mentioned the two super butcher shops in Aberfoyle as we do very much like to promote local businesses. It's great that you explored the area via Kayak - real adventurers. Appreciating whether guests want to talk and those who'd prefer to be left alone is something that we work very hard at. We are a sociable family and always ready to answer a question or hear a story of that day but do certainly appreciate that most people chose us to get away from hustle and bustle and unwind in these stunning surroundings. Hope to welcome you back one day. Best wishes from both of us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing