We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fab weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Six couples stayed valentines dinner dance weekend it was brilliant food lovley entertainment first class staff lovley the rooms were clean basic but all you neaded in them we will def be back excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freebiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    226
    120
    44
    42
See reviews for
82
260
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Arrived Friday night for dance on Saturday.Staff ,all depts are friendly/helpful without being intrusive and have good local knowledge.
Food on Friday was excellent. Saturday at dance wholesome,not fancy but well cooked. Service very quick ,Absolutely no complaints.
The room was on an upper floor.There was a lift but never used it.Covered walkway great .Weather was atrocious so it was very welcome.
Good sized/well decorated/warm room with all we required.Clean and bright.
Bar well stocked and good service/prices.
Only downside was I don't think they have a general maintenance programme. In our room the bathroom radiator did'nt work and the cold water tap only came out as a trickle.The handy man came very quickly to check it and advised us it was not just a 5 minute job .Got the feeling this was a good answer to a job that should have been done when last reported even weeks before.
Anyway, the guys in the band worked well to entertain and the DJ on the disco , though he said very little, did keep the music going.An enjoyable evening.
Breakfast is fine-well cooked and hot.
Will I recommend the hotel-yes.Will I return -yes.
Really good location for touring .Also convenient path from hotel right into town
If you are looking for a hotel for 2-3 of nights as a base it is good.Also no parking problems.

Room Tip: Go not expecting the Ritz and you should be pleasantly surprised for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just returned from a night at the Rob Roy, and what a fabulous night it was! Four of us girls on a night out couldnt have wished for better. Staff friendly, rooms clean, comfortable and warm, four course meal was really nice.. the band were absolutely amazing and the disco was great too. Drinks werent too pricey, all in all a great night. Breakfast was good and staff in dining room very efficient, although the tea and coffee were lukewarm and weak.. thats my only complaint!
We shall be returning!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We just popped in for lunch on a very wet winters Sunday. The guy at the bar was so attentive from the second we walked in. He noticed we had two young kids and changed the channel on the tv for us to the kids channel. Then he re arranged tables so we had more room. We only had sandwiches which were lovely. The service was a pleasant surprise.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debstoby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just back from a mon-fri trip with Harry Shaw. Thoroughly enjoyed it, as is in central location close to some of my family. Had a good journey up as driver an courier were brill! Now got a walk-way to rooms as is like a Motel, and rooms were lovely and warm, clean and plenty of clothes space, with tea coffee and biscuits etc. Had a lovely 3 course evening meal with 3 choices of each, had some moaners asking for extra rolls etc but with 3 courses there was plenty. Breakfast you helped yourself and if you asked for more toast you got it! Had entertainment 2 nights and was brill, scottish chap was telling us all about the kilt and had us all singing then next night we were all up dancing along to chap with guitar. Had some good trips out and met up with family, as have been here many times some years ago i know my way about this area and will definately go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

A Hogmanay trip with 43 customers . We found the hotel easily a good quiet position . Great parking for the coach(es). Close to aberfoyle but not in it there is a path round the back old railway easy and pretty walk to village 15 min 10 if your a quick walker . Hotel great for older folk half rooms on the ground floor and the room very spacious and clean everything worked good shower . Cozy too remember this was January . Food surprising the hotel had 180 folk in coaches but food very good quality well cooked and pleasantly served by friendly staff. Good base for touring lots to see and do within 50 mile radius a great cross section of Scotland . The hotel does look a little grim but don't be scared I quite liked it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

spent xmas on a david Urquhart trip after reading reviews before we went we went not expecting too much for a 2 star hotel.how wrong we where excellent food the buffet on Christmas day was the best I have ever had.the rooms where very clean & warm & the staff where very helpful & pleasant.i would recommend this hotel to anybody.it definatly deserves more than a 2 star rating we where a party of 8 & not one of us could say anything bad about it.diane leeds

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
14.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
7.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Property: Rob Roy Hotel
Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing