We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service !!!”
Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing service !!!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here for one night with my husband this weekend to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary . A week before arrival I emailed the hotel requesting a few little extras as a surprise for my hubby (bottle of wine on Ice ... Petals on the bed and a box of chocolates) this was no problem for the staff and we were both delighted ! Location is so beautiful and peaceful which is exactly what we wanted . Room was immaculately clean and had everything that we needed (although I would of liked more milk on the hospitality tray but that's just a personal opinion As I do drink a lot of coffee ) hospitality tray had biscuits and tea coffee supplied which went down a treat after a long car journey , we decided to eat at the restaurant for our tea and was so surprised by the bar menu ! I had the deep fried Brie for starter and macaroni for main and was delicious ! We were £24 for 2 starters 2 msins and a few drinks . Breakfast was equally as good ! Bar staff were exceptional . Very polite and helpful ! We plan on returning again next year as it was exceptional value for ! money ! Thank you rob Roy hotel for making our anniversary weekend one to remember

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsdryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    233
    120
    44
    42
See reviews for
84
265
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

we were on a five day coach tour last week. on first sight we were not too impressed, as it,s in much need of a good paint and tidy up outside. however on getting to our room we were pleasantly surprised.our room was very cosy,nicely decorated, the bathroom was brand new.very clean .the meals were excellent, plenty of choice,and very tasty.the staff were very efficiant,pleasant,and very good at their job.the entertainment was also very good,much enjoyed by all.aberfoyle is a lovely place,with much to see and do. all in all a very good holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great weekend lovely meals, comfortable room,friendly helpful staff, and the band playing were really good would defo recommend it i would love to go back in the spring or summer or even when it is a bit drier so we could explore the beautiful surroundings on foot

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at the Rob Roy...hubby and I went with my mum and partner to celebrate her 80th birthday. We were there on a Hough's of Lincolnshire (also highly recommended) coach trip and having done previous ones all over Scotland the Rob Roy is now our favourite hotel there. It is situated in countryside one mile out of the lovely little village of Aberfoyle and there is a level tarmac footpath running from behind the hotel down into the village, I'm in a wheelchair and it was no problem for my hubby pushing me there and back. In parts the path runs alongside the river and it's a very pleasant walk, which I would love to do again on a summer's day as it was a bit cold and wet this time, but we still enjoyed it.

As for the hotel itself, it may look like it could do with a lick of paint on the outside in places, but the inside is very warm and welcoming. We had a ground floor room which was huge, with an excellent bathroom, and it was very clean, warm and comfortable. There is a good sized bar area where we had entertainment on two nights...two fantastic singer/guitarists (each very different), who both had us sat in our seats till they'd finished and still wanting more! Definitely the best hotel entertainment we've ever had on a coach trip!

But the best thing about the Rob Roy has to be the meals...excellent buffet breakfast and waiter service 3-course evening meal with three choices for each course. Everything we ate was superb and some of the puddings were to die for, my diet went out the window!! The main courses always came hot and very well cooked.

Lastly, a mention for the staff. All the staff...receptionists, dining room staff, barmen, room cleaners (sorry if I've forgotten anyone) were very friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel.

The only thing I'm sorry about...is that we haven't stayed here sooner!! We will definitely be returning to the Rob Roy, ASAP.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScunthorpeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent three nights at the Rob Roy in mid-February 2014 on a midweek DBB break. Amazing value for money with a cooked Scottish breakfast and three course dinner each day. The evening meal was excellent, with a different menu each night and three choices for each course. Breakfast was pretty much all you could eat, with a freshly cooked main course and help yourself to juice, coffee, cereal, etc. Service was very attentive and very quick. Travel delays meant we arrived just after the restaurant closed on the first night, but without even being asked the receptionist phoned the kitchen and arranged for us to eat anyway. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable with a large ensuite bathroom with a large shower enclosure and plenty of hot water. Full marks to the Rob Roy, we'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redcoat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Six couples stayed valentines dinner dance weekend it was brilliant food lovley entertainment first class staff lovley the rooms were clean basic but all you neaded in them we will def be back excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freebiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Arrived Friday night for dance on Saturday.Staff ,all depts are friendly/helpful without being intrusive and have good local knowledge.
Food on Friday was excellent. Saturday at dance wholesome,not fancy but well cooked. Service very quick ,Absolutely no complaints.
The room was on an upper floor.There was a lift but never used it.Covered walkway great .Weather was atrocious so it was very welcome.
Good sized/well decorated/warm room with all we required.Clean and bright.
Bar well stocked and good service/prices.
Only downside was I don't think they have a general maintenance programme. In our room the bathroom radiator did'nt work and the cold water tap only came out as a trickle.The handy man came very quickly to check it and advised us it was not just a 5 minute job .Got the feeling this was a good answer to a job that should have been done when last reported even weeks before.
Anyway, the guys in the band worked well to entertain and the DJ on the disco , though he said very little, did keep the music going.An enjoyable evening.
Breakfast is fine-well cooked and hot.
Will I recommend the hotel-yes.Will I return -yes.
Really good location for touring .Also convenient path from hotel right into town
If you are looking for a hotel for 2-3 of nights as a base it is good.Also no parking problems.

Room Tip: Go not expecting the Ritz and you should be pleasantly surprised for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
14.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
7.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Property: Rob Roy Hotel
Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing