We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a nice area, also suitable for disabled guests”
Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Simple but functional hotel, with an excellent price-performance ratio, where we had a wonderful time for a week.
Important for us: There are handicapped accessible rooms.
That is not always the case in this price range.
Also the "normal" room was perfectly fine, even though the bed was not as comfortable as home.

The food was delicious, and a low-fat diet was no problem.
It is a big hotel with lots of guests, the last night as many as 180.
But even so, the staff succeed to maintain excellent quality. Nothing was too much.
My compliments to the management!

The setting is beautiful, and perfect for walking.
Even with the wheelchair we could manage well, because right behind the hotel runs a paved bike path on an old railroad track.
And with the car we reached stunning views, beautiful lochs, impressive castles and stunning gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

A group of us based ourselves here on a recent walking holiday. What we needed was a good value venue. The Rob Roy didn't disappoint - our rooms were clean, bright and airy and a good size with modern shower rooms. And the towels would have looked good in a 4 star hotel. as this hotel specialises in bus parties the public areas are quite large and simple but well furnished. Breakfast was vey good with a good choice of hot and cold. The mainly young staff were all excellent - friendly and helpful and everybody staying there either as independents or on organised tours all seemed very happy. This hotel knows its market and how to cater superbly for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellioth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

we stayed at the Rob Roy as part of a coach trip from stepping in to the place we felt most welcome. The staff was fantastic very friendly and had a fabulous sense of humour. The food was great and delicious. Although the place was busy the staff was efficient and made it seem effortless Martin was Hungarian but him and his collegues always had a friendly smile nothing was too much trouble for them.
Although the place it self was a little tired looking I have no concerns the rooms was big and clean and the room was cleaned and fresh towels left out every day so give it a try You never know we was lucky enough to see a stag moving around the grounds like we did.Also there is a bus stop outside the hotel that will take you to Glasgow I have been to nicer looking hotels however the service and staff was nowhere as good I can only hope you all enjoy it as much as we did

Room Tip: upstairs better viewing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz196520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well the price was good and the food was hot and edible. All the staff were polite and welcoming. entertainment was what i would have expected, central scotland not Las Vegas.
The Hotel itself is clean and tidy and i think fair to say tired in places.
The constant door slamming and clunk clunk clunk of people stomping up and down the corridors, this is exacerbated by the floorboards, and room doors.
My general feeling is I've been once would i go back? No! I think I would try somewhere else same theme same price.
Wouldn't discourage anybody from going, just make the most of your time i suppose.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BLUESOLDIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel , first class in everyway , my family went to this hotel for many years , my mum n dad went year after year for two weeks and had a great time, my dad was severly disabled and they done everything to help my mum with him , they got special treatment , I went up for two weeks with my family as well and had a fantastic time hotel was lovely , rooms very spacious and clean , food was superb and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful , lovely scenery and plenty to do fab time had by all

Room Tip: We had room straight across from hotel they're were a wee kids roundabout outside our room ,room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

On arrival the hotel looked 'OK' good size car park with plenty space. The reception area had a musky smell and is in need of some tlc but it was clean and the staff were nice. Rooms were basic but they were clean with a shower in the bathroom and some shower gel & shampoo sachets. The only complaint about the rooms were the walls were paper thin. We could hear the guy next door snoring. If you're booking one of their tribute nights I wouldn't be put off as they looked great. The breakfast was buffet style and was great! There was plenty of choice ranging from cereals to a good Scottish fry up washed down with tea / coffee or fresh orange.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenW00DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A group of 16 or so of us attended the Saturday dinner dance to celebrate a birthday (second time we've done it) and had a great time again. As others have said, it's not the most fancy, upmarket of hotels, but it doesn't market itself as such. The rooms are basic, but comfortable, everything you need for an overnight stay. We had a 4 course meal which was good and the band were great as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the receptionist on check in (didn't catch her name) and Alister in the restaurant. All in all, a great night, does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJulesBishopton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
17.2 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
208 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: £51 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing