We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break”
Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at the Rob Roy Hotel and like everyone else says we had a great stay. The hotel is a little dated but the welcome,service to us is more important. The rooms were comfy with tea and coffee etc, lovely white towells,shower gel sachets ,soap and hairdryer on request. The food we thought was exceptional -far more than anticipated for a 2 star hotel. Great choices -3 for each course and they were delicious.(wish i could make steak and mushroom pie like that!!) Our entertainment was brilliant-Gary the all scottish artist was great as was the guitarist. Location suited us with plenty of walks for after dinner!! A big thank you to all the staff who were so efficient and special thanks to Ann who was there to answer all our queries.

Room Tip: try to have a room with no one above -the floor boards creaked-or was it the beds!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashire47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just got back from four nights dinner, bed and breakfast at this very pleasant hotel. We had a really nice upgraded room which was both clean and comfortable. The only thing to spoil our stay was the inconsideration of other guest banging their doors late at night and first thing in the morning - it does not require much thought to close a hotel bedroom door quietly.
The food in the hotel was pretty good and the service was very quick and well organised
The hotel itself is actually a three quarter of a mile walk along a tarred old railway track into the village of Aberfoyle where there is a tourist information centre and a couple of pubs and a few cafes.
Overall we had a great time enjoying local walks as the weather was brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Was meant to stay over after a dinner dance, but youngster wasn't welcome for the meal by the manager eat in the other restaurant she said.. So I cancelled my stay in the room and didn't go to the dinner dance...thanks very much your not child friendly at all. You should review your policy as it's going to affect your business a lot and there is no need for silliness like that. Let's see if it happens again in 2015 :( all new outfits had to be returned to the shop my wife is very angry with the manager and so am I..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

stayed here twice in last 5wks loved it staff are amazing and the rooms are great the second time was the the dinner dance weekend and it was great nite food was fab to will def go back here ,,, area amazing as well

Room Tip: thik all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked a twin room for dinner dance weekend,the room was clean but could do with a lick of paint.The shower room was a good size but the shower cubicle was miniscule my wife just squeezed into the cubicle but I have a 52 inch waist and I could not get into the shower cubicle.There was also a problem with the hot water, we had to run the hot water tap for over 5 minutes before hot water came through.The food was decent and plentiful,but the breakfast buffet was a bit hit and miss as we had to wait along time for bacon and sausages to be put out by this time the eggs had been sitting on the hot plate.Overall it was good value for money.By the way do try the 2 hour cruise on Loch Katrine- stunning views.

Room Tip: Invest in an upgraded room I think they have air con as the standard rooms have not and the local mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsteele525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I wasn't sure about booking this hotel after reading some reviews. How wrong was I ! The dinner dance was great night , all staff are very helpful and friendly. Food was great and will be back for sure with my friends. Receptionist was lovely to. Our room was clean and well stocked with tea and coffee. Loved everything about this stay and made my weekend .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Simple but functional hotel, with an excellent price-performance ratio, where we had a wonderful time for a week.
Important for us: There are handicapped accessible rooms.
That is not always the case in this price range.
Also the "normal" room was perfectly fine, even though the bed was not as comfortable as home.

The food was delicious, and a low-fat diet was no problem.
It is a big hotel with lots of guests, the last night as many as 180.
But even so, the staff succeed to maintain excellent quality. Nothing was too much.
My compliments to the management!

The setting is beautiful, and perfect for walking.
Even with the wheelchair we could manage well, because right behind the hotel runs a paved bike path on an old railroad track.
And with the car we reached stunning views, beautiful lochs, impressive castles and stunning gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
17.2 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
208 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: £51 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing