We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rob Roy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Camp Hotel(Callander)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
231
270
129
46
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
270
129
46
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdinner dancetribute nightbuffet breakfastcovered walkwaycourse mealstar hotelself serviceparty nightharry shawcoach tripmain buildingflat screen tvpublic areasnice walkgreat nightcoach partyrooms are basic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked the Rob Roy to break our journey from the North of Scotland back to our home in North Wales. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The food is average but adequate.The hotel itself is, in a word, a dump. It should be described as a "hostel" rather than a hotel.Before this place could be described as a hotel would require a great deal of refurbishment. The carpets and flooring throughout are dirty. The paint work looks about 30 years old. The ground surrounding the hotel need work. (We had a panoramic view of the bins from our room). The prices are fine for a hostel but overpriced for a hotel. This is definitely not a "hotel".

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billbobwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

They call this a hotel, but it is an OLD motel, the last decoration must be from the seventies. Room awful, bathroom past it, old lino on the floor, feeble shower , yuk! Carpets past it too - all in all a BIG disappointment.
Only consolation, a good breakfast, but by then we just wanted OUT!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Janel324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Managed to get 4 nights dinner bed and breakfast for an absolute song... less than the price of bed and breakfast.

Plusses...
Friendly staff.
Good food.
Clean rooms.
Value for money.
Location (if you have transport).

There were enough plusses that I wouldn't rule out a repeat visit... but a number of things could make it so much better... small things.

Matress protector on bed meant uncomfortable sweaty nights.

Swifts nesting outside window meant a 5.30am daily nature alarm call.

I have never had to walk so far from room to dining room in my life! I am not disabled but having damaged my knee cartilage I had hoped for a restful week. The walk was a real struggle and older or disabled guests would really struggle.

That said, had I asked, maybe a move would have been possible as I found the staff helpful and accommodating.

Food at night was very well cooked and presented... with a good choice every night. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, if a bit samey. Maybe a random breakfast item daily would help that.

Last minor gripe... music. The same cd in the dining room 4 days running... breakfast and dinner. With 3 coach parties of elderly guests, some crooners; Sinatra, Matt Munroe etc would have gone down a treat and played to the majority... but repeated George Michael was a background drone. Small touches can make such a difference.

No phone signal and wi-fi only available at reception meant that due to the distance from our room we had no connection to the outside world. No hardship on our week away from it all but handy to know if you are on business.

All in all we had a decent break and found the break value for money primarily due to quality of food and staff friendliness... but distance of room and uncomfortable bed would be the main considerations if looking to return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at the Rob Roy Hotel and like everyone else says we had a great stay. The hotel is a little dated but the welcome,service to us is more important. The rooms were comfy with tea and coffee etc, lovely white towells,shower gel sachets ,soap and hairdryer on request. The food we thought was exceptional -far more than anticipated for a 2 star hotel. Great choices -3 for each course and they were delicious.(wish i could make steak and mushroom pie like that!!) Our entertainment was brilliant-Gary the all scottish artist was great as was the guitarist. Location suited us with plenty of walks for after dinner!! A big thank you to all the staff who were so efficient and special thanks to Ann who was there to answer all our queries.

Room Tip: try to have a room with no one above -the floor boards creaked-or was it the beds!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashire47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just got back from four nights dinner, bed and breakfast at this very pleasant hotel. We had a really nice upgraded room which was both clean and comfortable. The only thing to spoil our stay was the inconsideration of other guest banging their doors late at night and first thing in the morning - it does not require much thought to close a hotel bedroom door quietly.
The food in the hotel was pretty good and the service was very quick and well organised
The hotel itself is actually a three quarter of a mile walk along a tarred old railway track into the village of Aberfoyle where there is a tourist information centre and a couple of pubs and a few cafes.
Overall we had a great time enjoying local walks as the weather was brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews