We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience despite comments by steph111”
Review of Clachan Hotel

Clachan Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clachan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience despite comments by steph111”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Having spent a weekend here, I would disagree with the comments made by steph111. We found the staff very attentive, obliging (having left my toiletries behind) and courteous. The rooms had everything needed and importantly for us, the bedding was immaculate. The room was good value for money as was the food. In fact, the food was excellent value for money. I'd go as far as to say the portions were oversized for the price! I would reccomend this hotel to others in fact, we're booked in already for another weekend and it won't be our last!!

Room Tip: great central place to visit Scotland. Countryside spectacular. Close to Stirling and Glasgow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avril m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Used this hotel for years and never had a bad experience. Staff always friendly and rooms always been clean and fresh. Reccomend to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The establishment is under new management. We showed up as tired walkers and they took us in even though the restoration on the rooms is not complete. The breakfast in the morning was incredible and everything we needed was provided. The owners and staff were very friendly. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandhurst1
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Clachan restaurant - Only takes cash which is normal for a lot of Scotland now and it is great value.
We ate supper for less than £100 for 4 with wine. Having just come back from France it is about 60% cheaper than a poor meal out there.

All four of us enjoyed good service fresh food and local fare. Thoroughly recommended but it doesn't look much from the outside!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank sandhurst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Visited during short break in Scotland.
Room was basic but clean.
male staff were helpful and professional.
Restaurant lovely, food good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelguyDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by the ecellent quality of the food in this restaurant which is certainly still a work in progress. The owners have only been in for 6 weeks and have great plans.
Loos need attention!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandEartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2009

There was no reception and no guest book; the staff weren't expecting us and didn't even know the room rates. The place was being refurbished and furniture/rubbish was piled up in the corridors. We were led up a filthy staircase to a dingy room. I handed back the keys and told the staff that it was so dirty and horrible we didn't want to stay there. Thankfully we hadn't paid any money and we did manage to find a lovely B&B instead. We think the Clachan Hotel is a complete and utter disgrace.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberfoyle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
638 reviews
7.8 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Corrie Glen Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Trossachs Holiday Park
Trossachs Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Aberfoyle
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clachan Hotel

Property: Clachan Hotel
Address: 16 Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Kirk Bistro formerly Clachan Hotel is now under new ownership.We would like to welcome everyone new and old.Bar/Bistro light bites served from 12-5 Evening Meals from 6pm served until 9pmGames Room:duke boxpool tabledart boardetc etcKaraoke/Live Music ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clachan Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing