We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute surprise”

Craigmore Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigmore Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 9 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We walked in off the street after driving through aberfoyle and asked if they had any rooms the outside of the building is beautiful, full of character. We were lucky enough to get a room and although they were fully booked for the second night they managed to accommodate us in a sister business. The place is lovely, the rooms have plenty of space and the bathroom was so modern, it has old and new all mixed into one but gives it that individual taste, we ordered our breakfast the night before and we changed what was available to what we prefer and it wasn't a bother to any of the staff. The one thing we couldn't get over was how cheap the guesthouse was!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Craigmore Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you very much for your feeback of the guesthouse. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us along with many others that have passed through our doors. Sorry that we couldnt keep you in the Guesthouse both nights but at least we were able to accomodate you in the hotel that is also family run. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were in Aberfoyle for 3 nights in August 2012. The place is close to the (small) centre of Aberfoyle, in a nice garden. The B&B looks nice from the outside. Inside is really no frills, without any personality. Everything, from the room to the service, to the attention to the client, is kept to the minimum. There is nothing particularly wrong, but nothing particularly good either. If you arrive to Aberfoyle from Fort William, consider that it takes very long. We passed through Glencoe at night, and it took nearly 4 hours. The road is very nice, with incredible views, but very difficult also..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Craigmore Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback of the Guesthouse, i am sorry you didnt not enjoy all aspects of our family business. When guests have travelled long journeys and make us aware that they are are arriving late, we leave out continental breakfast so that the guests are still benefitting from our services and to help them start their break/holiday on the right foot. The staff are all appproachable, my wife and I are involved in every part of the business from cooking breakfast to checking guests in and if you werent satisfied i wish you felt comfortable enough to say to us while you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

On our cycling tour of Scotland we stayed in several B+Bs. All were excellent except this one.
The only good thing I can say about this place was that it was clean.
The house itself was quite shabby.
The room was gloomy and 'no-frills'. It seemed as thought the owners must be very penny pinching, everything was the cheapest and no attempt to make things cosy had been made. Little 'luxuries' like a bin and a bathmat were absent. There was no hairdryer in the room, although you could borrow one if you asked. The old mirror in the bathroom was so low you had to stoop to see in it, and you also had to peer as it had no light over it. the Bizarrely there were kitchen cupboards and a kitchen sink in the bedroom.
It was cold wet evening but all the house's doors were wide open and the place was freezing. Since the duvet was thin, I asked for an extra blanket and was eventually found one - a thin, stained throw.
The lady running the hotel was helpful when approached, but didn't have the warmth and friendliness we'd come to expect from Scottish B+Bs.
The breakfast was below par and my husband had to sneak his almost raw sausages out of the breakfast room and into a bin. I ordered the continental breakfast. My croissants were half an hour in the making and when 'they' came, they turned out to be just one croissant.
There was no visitor's book to write comments in - we weren't surprised.
I would urge anyone to avoid this place - as a seasoned B+B user, I would say it one of the worst B+Bs I've ever stayed at. It's not even particularly cheap - we stayed in far nicer places that cost less.
My husband summed Craigmore up as "shabby chic without the chic".

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kormachameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Craigmore Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your review of our guesthouse, unfortunately over the past couple of weeks we have received some negative feedback though trip advisor and it is in our interest to ensure that our guests are happy and content whilst in our guesthouse. I am sorry that you felt the house was shabby, since taking over this building a couple ago we have invested a lot of time, money and care into this project. Although this doesnt jusitufy how you felt we have had a few issues with staff and a family friend has came and helped out the last couple weeks, she is definately approachbale and would go above and beyond her call of duty however it may take her a while to get there as she is new to the premises whilst helping us. Generally with regards to cyclists, we put the bikes away and anytime anyone is cold/chilly (and the weather has been terrible) we try to accomodate through hot water bottles and extra heaters which are supplied to guests. I am sorry you didnt enjoy breakfast and i wish you had of explaied your issues during your stay so that we could of helped and you may of left with a better feeling than what you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Having read the reviews we did not know what to expect,but we were pleasantly surprised. From the moment we opened the front door the staff were friendly and very helpful. We booked the Craigmore as we were going to a wedding in the Black Bull hotel,Gartmore. There wasn't any taxis available despite the efforts of the staff to book one for us.
No problem for them, they quite simply drove us to Gartmore with their own car, fantastic!!

Our room was very adequate and spotless and we thought it was great value for what we paid

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John-Pat-Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

exactly the same as Kerrie C - can not say more : clean , kind service , breakfast OK but just want to move away -

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thuriane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were at a party in the village and yes this was close. But it is certainly not what the website suggests. Most of the rooms are in the annexe at the back. Very clean, but it seems like they have followed a b&b manual .... Plastic cups wrapped in plastic, soap (who uses soap these days?!) It is clinical, it has pine furniture and has kitchen cupboards in the room, for what reason I couldn't work out. A small table for the tea/coffe tray/ kettle would suffice and make for a more spacious room!

Yes it wasn't expensive, yes it was close to town, yes it was clean, yes breakfast was on time, yes breakfast tasted ok, however, not what I expected from local produce. Clean bedding, nasty thin pillows, average bed, quiet, but lacking in any character. If there had been a Premier Inn I would have chosen that every time.

And the towels, well, they could remove the top layer of skin.

Good value? No, not for me, but maybe my expectations were a little higher, and why was that, because that is what their website led me to believe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

What a disappointment - doesn't live up to the locally hosted website hype. We stayed at a quiet time of year and several rooms were left open. Three bathrooms have mouldy ceilings and the general decoration is very poor. Staff very supportive and helpful. Doesn't represent value for money; doesn't present the quailty it pretends to. Great location. A great opportun ity awaits the owner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
679 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Corrie Glen Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Gartmore House
Gartmore House
#3 of 4 in Gartmore
238 reviews
10.3 mi away
Airlie House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigmore Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmore Guesthouse

Address: Lochard Road | Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3SZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Craigmore Guesthouse Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing