We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea and a view”
Review of St Columba Hotel

St Columba Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Iona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$29
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I spent a pleasant couple of hours on a very comfortable sofa. enjoying tea and panoramic views over the Sound of Mull. Absolutely the best place on Iona for taking in the scenery in comfort.

2  Thank IonaR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We feel very fortunate to have the wonderful views across to Mull and we're glad you were able to enjoy and appreciate them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very welcoming even though we were a bit late for lunch. Good choice of different lunches from light to a very full plate.

1  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your lunch and hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were very tired (pleasantly) from touring the abbey and were so glad the dining room was open at 2pm. The staff was friendly, the food was fresh and delicious, and we discovered ginger beer!

1  Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and I hope the ginger beer revived you after your time touring the Abbey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

a wonderfull spot with an amazing view and creative food! It was a surprise to just bump into this lovely and cozy garden!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IkRian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your ‘surprise’ visit to the St Columba, and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were staying self catering on Iona and had been looking forward to our one meal out. We chose the Columba because we had great meals there in previous years. The menu said pan fried scallops at £6.50 so we were hoping for perhaps 3 succulent queen scallops. We were told this had changed to smoked scallops and were a bit let down when we were presented with a few slivers of smoked scallop dwarfed by its leafy garnish, smoky taste but not a lot of scallop! However our sirloin steak was delicious. The real disappointment was the wine. Having been thinking of it all week we ordered a Pinot noir as the wine list praised it to the skies and I think it was the most expensive wine on the list. It arrived, rather cool, and was thin and acidic. Service was rather so so too. Next year we'll go to the Argyll!

Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

I’m very sorry to read that you were disappointed in your recent meal with us. It was unfortunate that on the day you were dining with us we had sold out of fresh scallops, and I’m sorry to hear that the thinly sliced peat smoked scallops were not what you were expecting.

I must also apologise that the wine was so disappointing, and I’m particularly sorry that, if I recall correctly, you didn’t make us aware of this until the end of the meal. We would have been happy to replace it for you had we known it was not of the quality it should be.

Having enjoyed meals with us in the past, I hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit and that the experience will better match your good memories of previous years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Columba Hotel also viewed

 

Been to St Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing