We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a view”
Review of St Columba Hotel

St Columba Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Iona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$29
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A genial dining space overlooking the water to Mull Island. My lunch was made of beyond excellent bread and smoked salmon.
The salad greens had to be from the organic garden just outside. Delicate. Recommended.

1  Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review and recommend our restaurant. We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your lunch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had lunch. Stake Sandwich and Vegetarian burger.
Bread used are excellent for both the sandwich and the burger.
On the menu, the burger seemed like it was a mixture of mushroom and sandried tomatoes with brown rice as a binder. But what came out was mainly rice.
I am not keen on carb on carb so it was rather disappointing, given it is almost 12pounds. It was very difficult to eat as it crumbled easily as it was not sticking together. Seeing the other dishes, I hope they can improve this dish.

Otherwise, the view, friendly service and nice dessert gave us a great break.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maria y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break in our restaurant. Thank you also for the helpful feedback about the vegetarian burger. I’m sorry that you were disappointed with it and I will ensure your comments are passed on to our Head Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had lunch in the St. Columba Hotel dining room while on a day trip to Iona. The hotel is located just a short distance from the Abbey, which is the main tourist attraction on Iona. The hotel dining room was busy as a full ferryboat of tourists had arrived just at noon and there were a large number of hungry people looking for lunch on an island with limited facilities. We were fortunate to get a table and enjoyed the good food, good service and pleasant view of the water. They had a varied menu with good prices and good portion sizes. We each had the soup of the day and shared a large sandwich, which was more than enough for two. All in all a pleasant dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CFofLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed you experience in our restaurant and hope to welcome you back should you visit Iona again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I spent a pleasant couple of hours on a very comfortable sofa. enjoying tea and panoramic views over the Sound of Mull. Absolutely the best place on Iona for taking in the scenery in comfort.

2  Thank IonaR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We feel very fortunate to have the wonderful views across to Mull and we're glad you were able to enjoy and appreciate them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very welcoming even though we were a bit late for lunch. Good choice of different lunches from light to a very full plate.

1  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your lunch and hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Columba Hotel also viewed

 

Been to St Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing