We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel with Green credentials”
Review of St. Columba Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Iona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Columba Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Iona
Tring
Level Contributor
350 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A superb hotel with Green credentials”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Hotel does everything possible to be Green - solar water heating, local food, cooking oil used in the vehicles as fuel, organic vegetable and fruit garden.

The staff are very friendly, the rooms very comfortable and the situation very beautiful. Meals are of a very high quality.

You can get picked up and taken back to the ferry - very useful in the rain! Youa re a two minute walk from the Abbey

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea have amazing views, worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    57
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
83
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My better half and I decided to treat ourselves to afternoon tea at this hotel, having gone on the recommendation of the owners of our B & B on Mull. We were not to be disappointed!
We chose savoury homemade scones accompanied by crowdie ( like cream cheese), homemade shortbread and delicious carrot and oat muffin. It was all served in the sun lounge looking over the water to Mull, brought to our table by very friendly and attentive staff. Had we decided to stay on Iona rather than Mull we would choose to stay at the Columba for its ambience which is so relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arranlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for a week with a group and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the ambience. May be a few more vegetables would have gone down well but really no complaints.

The lounge that runs along the back of the hotel faces onto the Sound Of Mull and is really good for a quiet tea or coffee.

I travelled with a group and the booking in was excellently done, with the minimum of fuss. Cases were brought, by arrangement from the boat.

Room Tip: Sea views are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The St. Columba - one of two hotels on the Isle of Iona - was an excellent choice. The staff is extremely helpful and efficient. The rooms are comfortable and clean with a good bathroom. The food in the restaurant is first class with a good selection of entrees, most of which are prepared with organic items from the hotel's own garden. After a day tramping around Iona with its relics and wonderful sites, you can relax with a cup of tea or (even better) a glass of wine in a lounge with a postcard view. Off the beaten track, but worth the trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you very much for posting this review. Iona may not be easiest place to get to, but we’re glad you agree it’s worth the journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a nice boutique hotel with good rooms and very nice bathrooms. The food in the restaurant was excellent and they had a nice selection of vegetarian and organic menu items.
I had a small booking issue which was immediately resolved by the staff. The staff were kind and eager to serve. The hotel has a nurturing sun room and even a music room with piano. Wifi was good. The breakfast choices were very nice...and they had a great eggs benedict.

The location was perfect. Make sure that you call ahead before arriving to arrange for the staff to pick you and your luggage up. Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the ride from the ferry landing to Fionnoport where you will take the ferry to Iona. At least three hours should be allowed to fully enjoy and photograph the beauty of Mull. Whatever you do...don't plan to take the last ferry...if you are even 10 seconds late...they will not wait for you. Check the schedule to determine when the last ferry leaves for Iona.

Give yourself at least two days on Iona...with 3 being a good choice if you want to make sure you have some good weather.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a sea view on the first floor nearest the meditation garden. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleheart222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post this review, which I’m sure people will find helpful. I’m glad to hear that we were able to promptly resolve the booking issue for you, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The last ferry to Iona is currently at 6.15pm Monday to Saturday, and 6pm on Sundays. Up to date timetables can be found at www.calmac.co.uk. The last ferry will wait for the arrival of the service bus, but does leave promptly after its arrival.

Thanks again for sharing these comments, and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Iona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in the Isle of Iona. The staff us so friendly. They see to your complete comfort, and the food in the restaurant is amazing. Also the views are absolutely breathtaking from the rooms, common areas, and restaurant. This Inn is also very centrally located and is very close to the ferry.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Many thanks for posting this review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, and certainly agree that we’re very lucky to have the views we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A very welcoming hotel with lovely staff. Our room was comfortable, not grand but exactly what we needed. I loved the food here too, and that most of it is grown in the beautiful garden. I really hope to come back sometime. It was my favourite hotel on my recent trip around Mull and Iona.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 330AndrewL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you very much for posting this review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, and hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Iona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iona
23.7 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
686 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
391 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Iona
129 reviews
23.7 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
332 reviews
19.4 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Columba Hotel

Property: St. Columba Hotel
Address: Isle of Iona, PA76 6SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Iona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Iona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Iona Abbey with stunning panoramic views across the Sound of Iona to the mountains of Mull. All food prepared from scratch in our own kitchens making use of fresh garden produce from our own gardens. Free broadband wireless internet. A warm welcome and friendly service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Columba Hotel Iona, Scotland
Hotel St Columba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing