We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carrot Cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Columba Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Iona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Columba Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Iona
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Carrot Cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited Iona and had a lovely walk. On the way back we called into the St Columba Hotel for a drink.

It was time for afternoon tea. We had wonderful carrot cake, scone, jam and cream. Both excellent. It was lovely to sit in the garden with our dogs, listen to the Corncrake and admire the bluebells and amazing view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynisphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, Front Office Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea in our garden, and we hope to welcome you back to the St Columba Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    55
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
79
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

As long term world travellers and having recently experienced the best of Guest House stays at Mackays and Glenrigh in Oban we were dreadfully disappointed with St Columba's.

Trading in on the name of St Columba is "poor form" as the "superior double" was tiny and in need of serious upgrade.

The staff, although friendly enough we're, in the main, poorly trained.

Had our reasonable expectation of a "superior double" been met we may have had a different opinion but to charge £157 per night borders on piracy especially as only continental breakfast was included in the price.

The one redeeming feature was the quality of the restaurant food.

Stay somewhere else where the price is reasonable and go to St Columba for dinner - if you must.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GregR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
I’m very sorry to read that you were so disappointed in your recent stay.

For the benefit of others reading your review, I must point out that you did not actually book our superior room. The first night of your stay was in one of our large double rooms, moving to a standard double for the second night.

I am also sorry that that you felt our staff were not adequately trained, and particularly that I wasn’t made aware of any problems during your stay. If you would be happy to provide further details please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Out of the 9 hotels we stayed at during our visit to Scotland this was by far the most expensive. It was comfortable and with beautiful views. However, we had a problem. We went for a walk and got lost. We called to let them know we'd be late for dinner. In the end we were an hour late, 8.30 instead of 7.30. Boy were we in the dog-house! We were virtually frog-marched into the restaurant, forbidden starters, and had the dessert menu thrown at us during our main course. The waitress ordered us to pass the plates at one point. So rude! We're all experienced travellers and were shocked - the customer is right so long as he isn't late for supper!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I am so sorry and surprised to read that this is how you felt about your dinner that evening. It was certainly not our intention to make you feel that you were somehow “in the dog-house”; we were just glad that you were all safe and well and found your way back to the road before nightfall. If you were made to feel rushed or unwelcome I can only apologise, that is certainly not the experience we aim for in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doune, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a lovely warm welcome you always get here! Smiley staff who do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable on this beautiful island. We have stayed here on several occasions and never been disappointed. Very good value and you can be sure of really good food and an excellently priced wine list from one of the best Wine Merchants in the UK . I think you would be happy here either as a single traveller, a couple or in a group. No televisions which I think is a bonus but good Wi-Fi should you want to go on line for whatever reason. Dogs welcome too which is much appreciated. Highly recommended all round!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra and it may be worth asking about the size of your room because sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay, as well as your previous visits. Your ‘room tip’ is quite correct: we have different rates for our small, standard and large double rooms to reflect the difference in size. We very much appreciate your high recommendation and hope to welcome you back to the St Columba before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the St Columba last Friday for one night and it was a lovely hotel. I was surprised given there are so few hotels on the island but the quality was great! The receptionist was lovely and friendly when we arrived, the room clean and spacious and the food was fabulous!! The scrambled egg for breakfast was the best I've ever tasted!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBryan1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the St Columba again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I was part of a group staying at the St Columba Hotel. After a long but beautiful journey it was great to be met at the ferry and our luggage taken ahead whilst we enjoyed the short walk to the hotel. We were given a lovely welcome by Dot and the staff and quickly shown to our rooms. This is a real Independent hotel and so do not expect your typical purpose built hotel with no character which so many are these days. The meals were lovely, the bedrooms warm and comfortable and it was great to just sit in the lounge, read a book, enjoy the views back over to Mull and relax. The hotel is in a great position, only a very short walk to the Abbey and with so few cars on the island you can just walk and keep on walking. I shall definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Iona, being a very small island, has not a lot in terms of accommodation and when we stayed, many places had already closed for winter. That being said, The St Columba Hotel is lovely. Good rooms with sweeping views over Mull and the waters and, of course, very quiet as there are hardly any cars on this island. Unless you have a permit, you cannot take your car onto Iona, so foot traffic only. The hotel is 2 minute walk to the Abbey and the little village. Very clean and great staff who looked after us very well. Beware, there is no TV although WIFI is available, but that should not deter you from staying here, it is the ambiance that captures you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iona
23.5 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
23.7 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Iona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 28 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
14.3 mi away
Craigrowan
Craigrowan
#1 of 3 in Pennyghael
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
19.4 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Columba Hotel

Property: St. Columba Hotel
Address: Isle of Iona, PA76 6SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Iona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Iona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Iona Abbey with stunning panoramic views across the Sound of Iona to the mountains of Mull. All food prepared from scratch in our own kitchens making use of fresh garden produce from our own gardens. Free broadband wireless internet. A warm welcome and friendly service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Columba Hotel Iona, Scotland
Hotel St Columba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing