We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argyll Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Iona
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Colonsay(Isle of Colonsay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Scarinish Hotel(Isle of Tiree)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caolas Farm House(Isle of Coll)
View Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel(Isle of Tiree)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highland Cottage(Tobermory)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
161
70
29
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
70
29
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic gardendining roomhome madelovely loungessmoked troutwaiting stafflunch timewonderful hotelsconesdinner menusea viewshort walk from the ferrylight lunchsoupsday tripperslovely viewwould love to go back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for one night with wife and dog . Stunning location . Great sea views from quaint room . Fantastic garden , seating area overlooking white sandy beach and sea .
Really cannot fault the service here , nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff .
Private dinning area for ourselves and our dog !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungry12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are so happy that your dog and you felt so welcomed! Having two of them ourselves we know the challenges of travelling with furry friends in tow. Our tag line is 'Come home to the Argyll Hotel' and we are delighted you were so comfortable here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Upon arrival to Iona, we were delighted to see the Argyll on the waterfront as the ferry pulled up to the wharf. This historic building has lots of charm, cozy lounges, great views, and a kitchen that offers fresh, top line food. Our room was quiet, had a nice garden view, featured a walk-in closet and had a comfy bed. The room (#17) was very small and we put our one small chair in the bathroom which was on the large side, and featured a tub rather than a shower. We made due with the snug hose extension, but washing hair was a wee bit awkward though I didn't really mind. In fact, we didn't really mind the small room because there was so much to do away from our room and the lounges were very comfortable and pleasant to be in when we wanted more space. The food was absolutely delicious! I must commend the staff person who overheard my vegetarian companion debating whether he wanted to eat in the dining room two consecutive nights because he wasn't crazy about one of the vegetarian menu selections and he didn't want to repeat the other choice. The staff person offered to ask the chef about creating some another option and we were most happily accommodated. Since this was my husband's birthday, I was thrilled that I got to dine at the Argyll one more time and especially happy that my husband was pleased. He loved his meal -- many thanks! We enjoyed seeing the extensive floral, herb and vegetable gardens behind the hotel. No wonder everything tasted so fresh! We hope to return someday and stay for more than just three nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardie065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay! We do understand that the room is on the small side, and there are plans afoot in the next few years to rebuild that wing. Our garden is one of our passions, which we love to share with people and our Head Chef Richard is always thinking of new things to create with the lovely produce , especially at this time of year when it arrives in daily from the garden. Many thanks for taking the time to post this report. We aim to go the extra mile if we can, as special occasions are worth celebrating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently stayed here for one night and had a lovely stay. Loved having an ocean view right out our window and all the staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The comfy lounges at the front were a great place to chill and handy for seeing when the ferry arrived for the return trip. Our only negative was the food served at dinner, it wasn't quite up to standard with the rest of the Hotel. Definitely recommend staying at least one night on Iona to appreciate the quiet and solitude in the evenings and mornings before the day trippers arrive, best way to fully immerse yourself in the Iona Experience.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms are the way to go! :)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicKiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment, and I am delighted that the hotel impressed you so favourably. I am sorry that the dinner didn't meet your expectations. I hope that you let the restaurant manger know as we do welcome all feedback to help us improve our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I loved my stay here although it was only one night away from my group I was traveling with before I went over to the larger St. Columba Hotel. Good food, warm & friendly service and great views from rooms and dining areas. If you are traveling alone or as a couple, stay here. If you're in a group the St. Columba offers large gathering places, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnpontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of us. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was due to visit Iona thirty six years ago but was prevented from doing so. Finally made it last week for a stay at The Argyll Hotel. What can one say? This hotel punches so far above its weight that it is in a class and league of its own. The originality, class, style and attention to detail fit perfectly with this unique island and its quality of peace, serenity and glorious unspoilt scenery. Staggering that in such a small space you can walk so much! The quality of the catering is exemplary and, in May 2014 at any rate, the highly experienced fish chef produced a different and exceptional fish recipe at every meal. Your host and hostess do not delegate their role and the entire experience, with their staff, was unique and special. There is an island legend that visitors return three times. Of that, this visitor is now certain!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms..but don't expect a panorama. The hotel remains small and traditional and the smaller windows are in keeping with the rest of the property in the area. This is not a modern, plush, hotel but a tastefully adapted local property. You will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllProprietors, Owner at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear John,
I am blown away by your very generous comments! Thank you so much, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews