We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golf course?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Machair

Ranked #8 of 20 things to do in Iona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a swing at your ball, but try not to hit the grazing sheep: this 18-hole golf course is naturally dramatic and - best of all - free of charge.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
170 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Golf course?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Machair is a seaside pasture land that has been developed, modestly, as a golf course. It is Scotland. You may not ever see a golfer. However, you will see the grounds crew, a herd of sheep.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A nice hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

A walk through the Machair and out to the coast provides some wonderful views and solitude. Seeing the golf course is interesting. There's a range of trails available from roads and paths to easy scrambles so you can choose a hike suited to your level.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I didn't have much time on Iona, since I was on a tour, but I stumbled across this area of the island and it was amazing. We walked there in about 45 minutes from the ferry and it was well worth the journey! I have never seen anything so beautiful in my life. The water is such a beautiful colour and the pebble beach was fabulous! We will be back for a longer visit, next time! Bring a water bottle and some snacks. There is nothing out here, but tranquility!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank angelique315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poetic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The machair rolls along the west side of Iona revealing beauiful white sand beaches tucked into quiet coves. The water is deep sapphire, warm green and turquoise. Absolutely stunning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Words can't really do this justice, you just have to do the walk over the golf course, talk to the sheep, picnic at the outstanding beaches and take some time to sit and reflect. I spent three days on the island and did this walk twice. Do not miss this, the walk might seem long but it is not difficult and the rewards are so worth it - there is the option to go further to St Columbas Bay which I did on one occasion - fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OutofSeasonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Machair also viewed

Iona, The Hebrides
 
Iona, The Hebrides
Iona, The Hebrides
 

Been to Machair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing