We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely!”
Review of Ardoran House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardoran House
Ranked #1 of 12 Iona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply lovely!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

It is hard to imagine a luxury that this lovely B&B does not afford. From the glass of wine that greeted me at the end of a long day's travel, to delicious breakfasts--beautifully prepared and served with kindness...beautiful rooms, towel warmers, bathrobes, and organic shampoo...gorgeous views of the sea and Scottish countryside out every window... My five night stay felt positively indulgent. Richard could not have been more accommodating nor more skilled in the art of presentation. I came for the beauty, solace, and deep faith found on the island...I could have stayed for Ardoran alone!

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethPC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
51
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Opened in March, Ardoran is a beautiful new dwelling , carefully and tastefully furbished and everything of superior quality from the cutlery to the bed-linen. Richard the host is very attentive to detail and each and every request and offered superb hospitality of the most welcoming kind. This was the first place we have ever visited where only a start-time for breakfast and no finishing time was given! Thank you for a wonderfully restful base. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianne099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

A cold atmosphere pervades this expensive b&b. Support staff are perfectly friendly but the manager can't seem to manage a warm smile or an enthusiastic welcome. Nor the importance of an early breakfast time on Sundays if you plan to connect with the only bus of the day to Craignure on Mull. He kept asking about breakfast but never shared with me the fact there is only one bus from Fionnphort on Sundays and it is at 9:20 a.m. So at age 72 I hitchiked with several genuinely warm Scots.

Room Tip: A water view across to Fionnphort would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank iadlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We arrived to spend two nights on Iona at the end of a week so stormy that on one day even the determined Mull ferry had been cancelled. The weather was still wild on Iona - we'd never been anywhere where the wind could blow from all four directions at once!!!!. It was our first visit to the island and indeed to the west coast of Scotland and by the time we got to Iona, we had already been stunned by the scenery on the trip up on the mainland and on Mull despite the weather. But Iona is very special and Ardoran House makes it all the more so.

We usually choose to stay at places with "character" and were slightly concerned that Ardoran House was obviously a brand new property - it opened only in March 2011 and is purpose built as a guest house. We need not have worried. Richard, our delightful host, has impeccable taste and has furnished the house with his own collection of pieces of art, antiques and bric a brac so that it both fascinates and feels homely.

The house itself has been designed with comfort and luxury in mind. Our room had a fantastic view over to Mull (and I believe to the otters on the Iona shore but they didn't put in an appearance for us), flat screen TV, fast wifi and a bathroom with a brilliant shower. The bed and pillows were supremely comfortable, the bath sheets huge and soft and the colour scheme throughout the house attractive and restful. We made good use of the huge guests' lounge (including enjoying a welcome glass of wine there when we first arrived) and the conservatory - both great places to enjoy the wild weather outside while keeping warm and dry. I had not brought my bathing costume so was unable to try the hot tub - other guests did and it looked as if it was a brilliant experience to sit in the tub looking at the stunning scenery even with the wind whistling around.

We hadn't read our welcome notes properly and so walked up from the port - only 5 minutes - but had we contacted Richard he would have arranged for us to be collected with our luggage. He did arrange for our luggage to be delivered there on our departure after we had spent the last morning exploring.

Breakfast is wonderful. Richard is very relaxed about the time at which it is served and makes yummy pancakes!!!! The dining room too is designed to make the most of the views from the house. On both evenings we ate at the Martyrs Bay Restaurant and enjoyed the home cooked food and warm hospitality there.

We were very glad we'd chosen to stay on Iona rather than doing the quick day trip to see the priory but two nights was not enough to fully enjoy the slower pace or the beauty and special atmosphere of this island. I am sure that we will return and am sure we will stay at Ardoran House when we do.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A-Roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just returned from my first trip to Iona and stayed at the wonderful Ardoran House B&B. This new property is homely and comfortable and tastefully decorated with useful touches like ipod dock and wifi. My bedroom had the most beautiful views out over to Mull so it was bliss going to sleep with the windows open hearing the waves lapping gently on the shore outside. Iona clearly has a strong christian history but there is so much more to the island and Richard, the wonderful, kind host (who was always attentive but never intrusive) gave wonderful suggestions of places to explore. There is a magical feel to the island that you have to experience for yourself but the fresh air, long walks along deserted white sandy beaches has to be good for the soul. What better way to finish your day than with a relaxing jacuzzi in the privacy of the garden with only sheep baa-ing gently in fields nearby. Home baking, delicous breakfast, lovely decor and facilities and kind staff ensured that this will be a place that I return to.

Room Tip: Sea front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We arrived in the late afternoon. Richard brought is out some hot tea and freshly baked scones. Gorgeous view overlooking the straight between IONA and Mull. Breakfast cooked to order. Rooms fresh, large and clean. Easy walking distance from ferry.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red_River_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Ardoran House is a new bed and breakfast on iona - it has a lovely sunroom amazing view from bedrooms and breakfast was delicious. ALthough it had a sauna we did not have the time to use it. Iona is a beautiful island and Ardaron House is a relaxing place to return to after a day out walking the isle. It is to the south of the hotels and the abbey about 10 minutes walk - although a car took us to the ferry and helped with baggage etc. Lovely welcoming friendly people who made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iona
24.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
123 reviews
19.8 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#10 of 27 in Tobermory
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arle Lodge
Arle Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tobermory
87 reviews
14.5 mi away
Craigrowan
Craigrowan
#2 of 3 in Pennyghael
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardoran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardoran House

Property: Ardoran House
Address: PA76 6SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Iona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Iona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardoran House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious lounge and conservatory for guest use at anytime. Hot tub and sauna for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ardoran House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardoran House Iona, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing