We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A whole different level!”
Review of Ardoran House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardoran House
Ranked #1 of 12 Iona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A whole different level!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Ardoran House is the only place to stay on Iona. From the bedding and linens to the breakfast, every detail is attended to with utmost care. There are no bad views from the rooms-the conservatory is lovely. While we didn't spend a lot of time 'hanging out', I can imagine returning in the future to relax on the premises. Richard is a wonderful source of information, with amazing stories about the island and Scotland. Honestly, there is no other choice when it comes to a place to stay. There is Ardoran, and everybody else. Head's up- if you go, book dinner reservations before arriving-Argyll Hotel is a wo derful p,ace to start your adventure. Cheers!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sbenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
50
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland,or
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Our host went overboard to make the members of my group tour feel welcome and accommodated. We were picked up at the ferry dock and speedily and easily checked into our rooms. At breakfast we enjoyed eggs from his own hens, probably laid that morning. Cows mooed, hens clucked, and sheep baaed, all from the back yard. A short walk to the tiny downtown village, and anywhere on the island, for that matter. Lovely and peaceful living room and sun room, both facing the sea. Backyard furniture for lounging. It was all so lovely.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent we were made to feel very welcome on our arrival ,with tea and scones
The host invited us to pre dinner drinks before we headed of to the restaurant Our room was the double and the overall spec was fantastic,from the colours to the fittings. The attention to detail is amazing,from the scroll with the breakfast menu on to the lights up the stairs. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackiePaulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed in first week July 2013 - a kind and helpful welcome from the minute I had to ring to explain a delay in our travel plans due to train problems. Richard gave helpful advice regarding connections to the bus from the ferry, and said he would have a glass of wine waiting for us. .After a tiring and frustrating journey this was just what we needed to hear. I have to say this is the best place I have ever stayed in terms of welcome, atmosphere, comfort and peaceful and restful surroundings. Great breakfasts also! Lovely hearing the sound of the sea in bed at night. Sea view from the room is beautiful. Thank you Richard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveturkeyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I'm a frequent B&B goer and this is the first time I have ever felt the need to seek out the opportunity to write a review. And delighted to discover that "Classy B&B, a cut above the rest" by Thedragon22 and "NO ordinary B&B" by maryloudean perfectly describe what I had planned to write about Ardoran House. This oasis of tranquility begs for return visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAtoNOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Not usually a BnB goer. I found this place quite good. The host was very nice and helpful. There was adequate privacy and the accommodation was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Did not have much time to enjoy the establishment nor Iona, but enjoyed the stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ayr2l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Regular readers of my travels will know that I don't give out a 5 rating too often and rarely for b&bs unless they really merit it however this one ticks all the boxes and compares with the best of the UK.

Very classy establishment more akin to something out of home and interiors magazine no attention to detail has been spared. About 5 to 10 mins from the pier the rooms are large with great showers and most facilities. The hot tub and sauna are great and the owner is happy to supply you with a glass of wine or something stronger if required.

Purpose built and it shows. On the pricy side however this is Iona and if you want a comfortable stay this is the place. Obviously ask for a sea view !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iona
24.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
690 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
402 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
121 reviews
14.6 mi away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pennyghael
65 reviews
24.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#9 of 27 in Tobermory
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardoran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardoran House

Property: Ardoran House
Address: PA76 6SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Iona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Iona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardoran House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious lounge and conservatory for guest use at anytime. Hot tub and sauna for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ardoran House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardoran House Iona, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing