We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on an island”
Review of Ardoran House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardoran House
Ranked #1 of 12 Iona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely place if you're going to spoil yourself. Richard loves hosting guests - he's always on hand to bring you home-made scones and tea, or a few glasses of very well chosen wine if you're relaxing in the hot tub. We were made to feel like royalty - it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulamae_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My visit was superb. Richard was a charming, warm host who took care of everything I needed, including arranging a pick-up at the dock and helping me plan all the connections from
Oban to Iona for an overnight stay and boat tour. This purpose-built guest house could not have been more thoughtfully planned, from the immaculate and spacious bathroom and well-appointed room to the cozy conservatory, gorgeous art and antiques, and quieter location just a bit away from the more crowded center of the town. Breakfast was delicious as well. The only element not completely to my liking was the rather firm bed (but I'm quite picky about soft beds!); however, the soft duvet and pillows and wool throw made up for it quite nicely. I will certainly be back when I next visit Iona.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJHND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Being collected by car off the ferry on a cold, wet evening and whisked to the home away from home, was a dream. From the moment I walked through the door, this B & B exuded comfort, hospitality and care. Richard could not have been a more charming host with so many interesting stories to tell. The sumptuous and varied breakfasts and wine and snacks later afternoon are wonderful. Close to all the sites and in the center of the island for exploration, this is the PLACE to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This purpose-built B and B on the amazing Island of Iona is completely wonderful. Stay at Ardoran House! The furnishings and special touches are welcoming and comfortable. The proprietor, Richard, is a gracious host and a super chef, and breakfast here was a highlight! I was traveling solo and was perfectly at home here. I know it sounds like I'm gushing (and I am...), but being on Iona is a special experience and lodging here makes it even more special. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I had a room on the back which I would definately ask for again. Quiet, comfortable, spacious. No ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovelabsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We walked in the door and felt immediately relaxed and at home! The decor was fabulous and the rooms were extremely comfortable with excellent views. Conversations over wine in the conservatory in the late afternoon with the other guests added to the charm. Richard is the best host that we have ever encountered. His attention to every detail makes this establishment a place that we definitely want to return to. Absolutely the best value on Iona!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hadassah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent two nights at Ardoran House, one of the most pleasant B and B stays we have ever had in Scotland, if not the best. Richard was a gracious host, who made us feel most welcome. Our room was most comfortable, and the wine with light snacks in the late after noon was delightful. Ardoran is our choice for a return to Iona.

Room Tip: A room in from gives a fine view of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuckfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were really well taken care of on Iona at Ardoran House. He really sets himself the highest standards for your comfort. Highlights included the breakfasts and the sumptuous beds (not bad for a B'n'B!) but most of all, chatting to the owner, glass of wine in hand, misty rain falling around ... but it doesn't matter when you're in a toasty jacuzzi!
The Ardoran exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iona
20.8 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iona Hostel
Iona Hostel
#1 of 2 in Iona
96 reviews
19.8 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 2 in Iona
271 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ardoran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardoran House

Address: PA76 6SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Iona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Iona
Price Range: £176 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardoran House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious lounge and conservatory for guest use at anytime. Hot tub and sauna for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ardoran House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardoran House Iona, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing