We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer Bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardoran House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardoran House
Ranked #1 of 12 Iona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sheer Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My sister and I,reunited from Australia and Scotland , spent 2 nights at this beautiful and comfortable B&B. Our host, Richard, has an exceptional standard of care and attention to detail. Some of the many comforts we indulged in were: a huge afternoon tea to welcome us,bubbling hot spa sipping on a glass of wine,indoor sauna,fluffy robes and lovely toiletries and the most hearty breakfast to set up perfect days in stunning Iona. We highly recommend this little ' sanctuary '

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
46
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely place if you're going to spoil yourself. Richard loves hosting guests - he's always on hand to bring you home-made scones and tea, or a few glasses of very well chosen wine if you're relaxing in the hot tub. We were made to feel like royalty - it was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulamae_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My visit was superb. Richard was a charming, warm host who took care of everything I needed, including arranging a pick-up at the dock and helping me plan all the connections from
Oban to Iona for an overnight stay and boat tour. This purpose-built guest house could not have been more thoughtfully planned, from the immaculate and spacious bathroom and well-appointed room to the cozy conservatory, gorgeous art and antiques, and quieter location just a bit away from the more crowded center of the town. Breakfast was delicious as well. The only element not completely to my liking was the rather firm bed (but I'm quite picky about soft beds!); however, the soft duvet and pillows and wool throw made up for it quite nicely. I will certainly be back when I next visit Iona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
410 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Being collected by car off the ferry on a cold, wet evening and whisked to the home away from home, was a dream. From the moment I walked through the door, this B & B exuded comfort, hospitality and care. Richard could not have been a more charming host with so many interesting stories to tell. The sumptuous and varied breakfasts and wine and snacks later afternoon are wonderful. Close to all the sites and in the center of the island for exploration, this is the PLACE to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This purpose-built B and B on the amazing Island of Iona is completely wonderful. Stay at Ardoran House! The furnishings and special touches are welcoming and comfortable. The proprietor, Richard, is a gracious host and a super chef, and breakfast here was a highlight! I was traveling solo and was perfectly at home here. I know it sounds like I'm gushing (and I am...), but being on Iona is a special experience and lodging here makes it even more special. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I had a room on the back which I would definately ask for again. Quiet, comfortable, spacious. No ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelabsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We walked in the door and felt immediately relaxed and at home! The decor was fabulous and the rooms were extremely comfortable with excellent views. Conversations over wine in the conservatory in the late afternoon with the other guests added to the charm. Richard is the best host that we have ever encountered. His attention to every detail makes this establishment a place that we definitely want to return to. Absolutely the best value on Iona!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadassah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FERNANDINA BEACH
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent two nights at Ardoran House, one of the most pleasant B and B stays we have ever had in Scotland, if not the best. Richard was a gracious host, who made us feel most welcome. Our room was most comfortable, and the wine with light snacks in the late after noon was delightful. Ardoran is our choice for a return to Iona.

Room Tip: A room in from gives a fine view of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iona
23.9 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
24.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pennyghael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
23.0 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 28 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
19.8 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardoran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardoran House

Property: Ardoran House
Address: PA76 6SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Iona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Iona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardoran House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious lounge and conservatory for guest use at anytime. Hot tub and sauna for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ardoran House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardoran House Iona, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing