We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Iona B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardoran House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardoran House
Ranked #1 of 12 Iona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Iona B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Ardonran House is the perfect place to stay on the Isle of Iona. Richard is gracious and offers wonderful hospitality. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Delicious breakfast and afternoon scones. Lovely views!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJRD93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
47
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
va
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

In 10 days of B&B throughout Scotland and Northern Ireland, this was the best B&B we stayed in. We were warmly greeted, offered a glass of wine in the windowed sitting room, and given an overview of the "extras" - hot tub, heated towel racks, internet access etc. This is a relatively new, purpose built B&B and it is a beauty. Step down the driveway and look out to the sea and you will have a killer photo opportunity. Breakfast there was superb, and the Isle of Mull sausage they served was absolutely sublime. The rooms are modern, large, well appointed, and spotlessly clean. It is a 5 minute walk along the shore to get to the main village/ferry terminal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I just had the privilege of staying at the Ardoran in Iona. The island is totally breath taking and the people very friendly.

Richard the Manager at the Ardoran is a warm, caring and wonderful person. He has a wonderful disposition and great sense of humor. He is an amazing host.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and have amazing views. This B & B is very tastefully decorated. The breakfasts are delicious. Richard goes over and above the call of duty to make you feel at home.

We highly recommend this B & B.

Susan and Ian Coish, Leith Ontario Canada

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I can't recommend this charming place to stay highly enough!

The breakfast was of the highest quality, the bedroom was very pleasant, the hot tub and sauna were fun and the complimentary drink ahead of supper was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Best to get a room with a sea view, if possible, but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thank you, Richard, for a wonderful stay at Ardoran House on the island of Iona. The B&B is extremely clean and neat. Your garden was lovely, and we enjoyed the flowers all over the house. We loved our glass of wine with you at the Ardoran House before dinner in town. The beds were extremely comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful. Tell Kathryn that she was exceptional helping with Breakfast. Thank you for giving us 2 rooms!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

All I would say about Ardoran is that it is a lovely, well presented luxury accommodation with amazing views - but at £170 per night, this is approximately three times the price you would normally expect to pay for B&B in this part of the world. Great if you have the budget, but to my mind, Iona is about getting away from it all and enjoying nature and the simple life, not sitting in a jacuzzi sipping champagne. If this is your sort of thing, enjoy it, but other visitors may like to consider a more down-to-earth B&B on the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RMcM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Could not have asked for more. Richard, the owner was away when we stayed, but we were very well looked after by Catherine. We were met with tea and freshly made scones. It is just a short walk from the ferry port, but if you don't want to walk, you can be met by car. Very much enjoyed a soak in the hot tub in the evening after big walks during the day.
The house is beautiful and you are made very very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blodwyn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iona
23.9 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
24.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Craigrowan
Craigrowan
#1 of 3 in Pennyghael
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
19.8 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
14.6 mi away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pennyghael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardoran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardoran House

Property: Ardoran House
Address: PA76 6SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Iona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Iona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardoran House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious lounge and conservatory for guest use at anytime. Hot tub and sauna for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ardoran House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardoran House Iona, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing