We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Great Days Out”

Alternative Boat Hire Iona
Ranked #3 of 3 Tours in Iona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based on the Isle of Iona, running short scheduled trips aboard a traditional 1930s gaff ketch, Birthe Marie is also available for whole boat hire.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the Great Days Out”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We chartered the wonderful "Birthe Marie" (and skipper Mark) for the day. Perfect weather meant we could sail from Iona to Lunga where we landed for lunch and penguin spotting. Afternoon sailing activities were curtailed by a broken halyard so we "chugged" to Staffa and then home. Mark was brilliant throughout - knowledgable and inspiring.

Helpful?
Thank 22Nigel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark j, Owner at Alternative Boat Hire Iona, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We've had some great weather this summer and you got one of those sunny days. Just so there is no misleading of readers; there are Puffins on Lunga during the nesting season but Penguins are very rare!
A recently ordered coil of new rope was waiting for me when I got home after that trip, so after a visit to the top of the mast we had the halyard sorted ready for the next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“There's no Alternative!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just back from a fabulous day with Mark and crew on the Birthie Marie. We are regular visitors to the Ross of Mull and had often discussed making a trip but were never quite organised enough.
We met the boat in Finnaphort and Mark was relaxed and helpful in planning the day round our wishes and wants. We set off round the Ross of Mull to spy out oft visited beaches now viewed from the sea, and gently cruised in and out of inlets and bolt holes, carefully guided by Mark who took time to explain the the local wildlife and shoreline from a different angle. He took us at a gentle pace to see seals basking on rocks and balanced our needs with the making the most of the day. We even had time for a spot of line fishing and are now looking forward to bar-b-qued saith for tea! All in all a great day would thoroughly recommend if you are looking for a memorable trip very much built around your wishes and needs for the day. Many thanks again to Mark and Laurie for such a great day out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark j, Owner at Alternative Boat Hire Iona, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed the trip, that south coast of the Ross of Mull is very pretty with its white sandy bays and islands, between the wrinkled pink granite lie many little gems and you got the sunshine to set it all off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winlaw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Trip”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We went on a multihour trip with Mark on his fabulous boat along the Ross of Mull and over to McLeods Tree. We were under power for the first half, nosing into inlets and cruising just off the shore. The scenery was fantastic, and Mark is a charming and engaging host, full of info and stories about what you are viewing. We perched very comfortably on the front of the cabin roof, and got picture after picture that we'd never have seen any other way. After tea at McLeods Tree, Mark hoisted sail (fascinating process to watch, amazing that one man can do it) and the boat came to life. She is a large older fishing vessel, gorgeously restored. She does not "zoom off", but slowly gathers speed. Soon we were cruising over a gentle swell on the sound, rigging humming softly and the keel sending gentle thrumming through the boat. I have sailed a little, so I knew what to expect. It was a first for my wife, who was amazed to feel the boat become a living creature under sail. Treshnish Isles to straboard, Mull to port, Iona ahead. Just a fabulous experience! Friendly, welcoming, close to the sea, deeply historical. If you are reading this, you are plainly interested. Great! Make your reservation!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark j, Owner at Alternative Boat Hire Iona, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for the positive review, we are glad you enjoyed the trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alternative Boat Hire Iona also viewed

Iona, The Hebrides
Iona, The Hebrides
 
Iona, The Hebrides
 

Been to Alternative Boat Hire Iona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing