We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbishments well done”
Review of Martyrs Bay Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Martyrs Bay Rooms
Ranked #5 of 12 Iona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had heard very mixed reviews about this place but our experience was very good.
With a few minor adjustments it would be excellent.
The breakfast was outstanding although it is described as light.
You do not get freshly based tasty scones like these in many places. The bed was very comfortable and the en suite spacious.
If only there had been a hair dryer and a place to put the soap in the shower cubicle I would have awarded excellent.
Location is very good too. Handy for all ages.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 21room21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed two nights in the busy season in July and were very pleased with the quality of te room, beds and en suite shower room and the breakfast. A fault with the TV was put right promptly. the place is very near the ferry pier and just across the road from the Martyrs Bar excellent cafe, bar and restaurant run by the same. The evening meals in the restaurant were outstanding in quality and value.
Yes, the price for B & B may seem expensive but is o a par with other places on Iona and one must bear in mind that the tourist season for the islanders is limited to a few months a year and that there are relatively few B & B establishments apart from the two or three hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NorwichKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It had been a hot sunny day and our party of 4 in two twin rooms, were shown into rooms like ovens. Now admittedly, they dont get that kind of weather very often, they said, but it would have been helpful to have fans supplied when required. It was just impossible to cool the rooms down. View? no! we had to keep the curtains closed to keep out the sun! And only two wee window to open. Not easy to sleep although the room had cooled down a bit by night time. That was the only complaint we had.
I've stayed there before and recommended the place to my friends
Rooms were beautifully appointed, clean, well furnished with comfy beds.
Staff were as accommodating as they could be and supplied us with excellent breakfasts - fresh baked rolls and scones. the property was also very handy for the pier, restaurant and bar just across the road. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing south or take your own fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seawitchblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I spent two night at Martyrs Bay rooms and - It has been totally refurbished and people should not pay attention to the old reviews of this place. Rooms are fresh and clean, good size bath/shower, view of the sea - quiet and owners are trying very hard to please. This is a new Martyrs Bay rooms and I wish them every success. It is really very nice and I would easily spend a week there in total comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bswuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Finlay Ross (Martyrs Bay Rooms) was the only available B&B on Iona when we made our booking. It was very clean - recently updated and painted.

Our room basically had a wall of windows - nice view, but it was literally like an OVEN when we arrived because of the sun beating in. There were only very light drapes, so we could not even block it out. The tiny windows did not allow air in, and there was no circulation. We tried to open our door, then the one in the hall to the courtyard to get air flow, but the guy who worked there fussed. (Which he did about other things as well...)

The 2 male staff were not very friendly. These were the only 2 we saw during our stay, although we had spoken to a lovely, pleasant lady on the phone to book our room. The guys seemed indifferent at best, and annoyed at worst. Every other person we met on this island was charming and sooo friendly. This was a big disappointment.

The bathroom was very nice-- super clean, and great water pressure in the new shower. The room was adequate in size. Comfortable beds, but it was so hot, even well after sundown, we found it hard to sleep! It was not too hot outside, but due to the lack of circulation, the heat never left our room from the daytime build up.

Breakfast was continental. Is was a nice variety, and the scones were very tasty. Time for breakfast service is VERY limited, so not much flexibility there.

I would say...nice, clean, very simple accommodations. If you are okay with indifferent treatment, then you would be okay. Just ask for a room on the INSIDE facing the courtyard area.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the interior area -- you will ROAST from the built-up heat from the sun shining i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hcvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

First time I have stayed here and was very happy with the cleanliness and decor, nice new and well appointed, great bathroom with a nice large shower. The noise from other guests with doors closing was a little annoying, but I am sure they will get this resolved. A continental breakfast is only served and a restricted time for a Sunday when we stayed but a nice choice of food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JY-and-PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I checked out of our previous B&B a week early, so we had to make a few last minute changes to our itinerary. We had planned to visit Iona for the day, but were lucky enough to obtain last-minute accommodations at Finlay Ross. The staff were extremely friendly, and we were a bit happy to have twin beds. After sharing a full size bed (used to sleeping in a Cali King bed), it was nice to spread out a bit.
Anyway, we had a fantastic time on the island...we were located right by the ferry stop and a nice restaurant. We were also a quick walk to the Abby and the Nunnery. On our way to the Abby, we met a friendly calico cat, who guided us right to the Abby and expected only a few rubs on the head as payment. We named her the Ionian Cat.
We could have stayed on Iona a week and simply soaked in the beauty and peaceful ambiance.
The room was not fancy, but in truth...who cares when your long summer days in Scotland are spent enjoying the beauty outside? It was clean, comfortable, had an ensuite, delicious breakfast and friendly staff...you could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: We were lucky to have caught the room in time...right after a cancellation. Book on Iona far in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebeccakuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iona
0.3 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Iona
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iona Hostel
Iona Hostel
#1 of 2 in Iona
96 reviews
19.9 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#2 of 10 in Dervaig
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 27 in Tobermory
325 reviews
14.8 mi away
Craigrowan
Craigrowan
#2 of 3 in Pennyghael
81 reviews
24.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martyrs Bay Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martyrs Bay Rooms

Address: Village Hall Martyr's Bay | Isle of Iona, PA76 6SP, Scotland (Formerly Finlay Ross)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Iona
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Iona
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed a refurbishment of all our rooms.All rooms now have en-suite shower rooms, Freeview TV's and tea/coffee making facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Martyrs Bay Rooms Iona, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing