We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place, full of character and located in...”

Review of Lagavulin Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

xavierlem...
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, full of character and located in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What an amazing atypical place to stay on this beautiful island of Islay. The house/chapel breathes character and history, fits perfectly in the rough and wild surroundings.
Inside, everything is at hand, even a big freezer and dish washer, and the interior (furniture, bathroom, bedrooms..) is a reflection of the exterior, very classy.
Communication with the proprietor is perfect.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TG54160
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Quirky Accomodation”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely quirky accommodation, the owner David is great with up front communication before arrival and there is a Housekeeper on the island for any immediate problems. The hall is gorgeously stunning being an old church, with beautiful large windows. There are three bedrooms, two double and one twin, with an extra sofa bed in the lower lounge. There are two lounges, one on the ground floor and one on the mezzanine level. The kitchen is well stocked with a large fridge freezer, a small fridge with ice box, dishwasher, cooker and a large selection of cooking implements.

Some of the rooms could do with a top to tail clean (cobwebs, dead flies in light fittings) and there are a few small diy jobs that could do with being fixed.

The washing machine was not working on arrival, which with a 6 month old baby is imperative to have working but Neil the Housekeeper is arranging a repair and we are being reimbursed for using the laundry facilities in Bowmore. (I will provide an update on this at the end of our holiday).

The facilities are not disabled friendly due to the age of the building and large stone steps, tiered seating areas.

The driveway does lead out onto the main road, but this is clear before booking, and during our time we did not pull out to any oncoming cars, so this was not an issue.

Update: sadly parts to fix the washing machine were not available in time to fix it during our holiday, but the owner and the Housekeeper were both great with communication, refunded a wash I had to do at a laundry service in Bowmore and took a further wash from me one evening and returned it washed/dried to next morning before 8am.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowSa...
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing - poor standard of upkeep and cleanliness - pity you can't see visitors book before you book”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Very poor first impression-met by jar filled with spent cigarette doubts on doorstep
Mound on tiles in shower room / extractor fan not working / mould and cobwebs on wall
Huge cobwebs on inside of velux windows that obviously been there for months - pointed this out to property manager but no action to even remove them

TV not working - no signal plus DVD had no hdmi cable attached to TV - both property manager and owner promised to have it fixed but nothing happened during the course of our stay

Washing machine door jammed - later released and previous washing removed but property manager advised not to use it in case door jammed again - laundry "room" a joke and needs serious upgrade

Filthy drawer liners in upstairs bedroom

Only half of the toaster worked

Inadequate storage for ambient foodstuffs in Kitchen area

Wardrobe in twin room locked and couldn't be used

Property not really suitable for young children - open drive onto main road

Reading through visitors book revealed that most of these issued have been around since 2013 so owner has completed disregard of customer feedback and property not maintained to an acceptable standard

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
What can I say? They broke the washing machine door handle. Wiped all the channels from the new Satelite TV box, complained about everything, were rude to the property manager and left dog hair all over the furniture and carpets.
It's a pity we can't review guests too. Luckily they won't be coming back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Handsome Lagavulin Hall”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a glorious week at Lagavulin Hall celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We ran off to marry on Islay 10 years ago, staying at the same enchanting converted chapel. A mix of romantic location (facing towards Lagavulin Bay with its castle ruin), beautiful dressed stone building, elegantly airy interior, comfort and an easy welcoming ambience, makes for a knockout experience, not easily forgotten. And then there’s Islay’s intoxicating air with the whiskey stills up the road…..

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brown D
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
“Lagavulin Hall is a classic property with all the feel of the history around it.”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved Lagavulin Hall. We stayed with 8 people total. There are beds for 6, a sleeper-sofa, and 2 more sofas that accommodate the folks who feel comfortable there. It has a large open floor plan and is very convenient to Port Ellen and especially the near-by, Ardbeg, Lagavulin and Laphroaig distilleries. Establish quiet hours if traveling with a group. Voices can be heard throughout in the still hours of the night. A small price to pay, however, for a truly Islay experience. The large dining table is perfect for meals, games, drinks & conversation. You can see the Dunyvaig Castle ruins from the kitchen windows. That feature makes the kitchen table a very special place to have a cup of coffee in the morning. Lagavulin Hall is a magical place. It's full of character and beauty. You'll love it if you don't mind a little rustic feel.

Date of stay: September 2016
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison T
2 reviews
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed at the hall for 4 weeks in June, had a great time. The building is beautiful with plenty of room for up to 8 people. Beautiful location and extremely convenient for distillery visits! Would absolutely go back!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Extremely hot shower
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie20...
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful, unique place to stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful week at Lagavulin hall, on arrival the house (although it is much grander than a house!) was spotless, the beds all made up, towels and toiletries available. It is a lovely layout, with the mezzanine lounge overlooking the kitchen and main part of the hall. I had expected it to be cold and draughty, but it was a perfect temperature throughout - especially with the log burner in the lounge. If you happen to catch the early ferry and arrive a bit too early, it is just within a short walk to Lagavulin distillery, where a wee tour and dram can fill the time quite pleasantly.

There is a new cycle track which goes from Port Ellen out to Ardbeg which makes walking and cycling very safe.

We had a great day with some of our group fishing for trout on Loch Gorm, whil the rest of us walked around the loch and visited some beautiful beaches and the Kilchoman distillery - at the end of the day we took the spoils of the loch and cooked them on a fire at the beach.

We all enjoyed our stay at Lagavulin and would happily recommend it!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mediaeval feel
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.