We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restorative rest stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Gallery and Tearoom - CLOSED

Rainbow Gallery and Tearoom
Restaurant details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Restorative rest stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Small friendly establishment with art work and crafts around the room. The tea and gingerbread we had were excellent - the gingerbread was amazingly light. Will definitely make a note to return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quine98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Called in for a light lunch with our friends today (20th July). The small tea room is along the west coast road of Lewis where food (never mind good food) is rare. The choice of meals are limited but all freshly prepared and tasty - it was perfect for our needs. The bacon, egg and black pudding roll was a meal in itself but we had to try the pancakes and clootie dumpling! Be careful not to miss the road side sign and drive past!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had a lovely little lunch in here - bacon roll with fried egg, pannini and 2 cans of pop - £7.30. Bargain! Food was very nice too. Lots of crafts on sale for you to browse, and I couldn't resist buying some of the home made jam which was lovely.

This is the sort of place to go to on the island. Forget the commercial establishments in Stornoway where you would pay 3 times the price for similar food. Its worth the travel to seek out little gems like this, and there are always things to see en route.

Highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil1972551858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Pit-Stop on the West Side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Had this small tearoom and gallery recommended to us by family and friends. It didn't disappoint. Soup and a sandwich kind of place with all day breakfast available too. Wife and I had paninis which were delicious; missus complimented the home made relish in hers. She was also most complimentary about her hot chocolate which was nice and hot the way she likes it. Couldn't resist trying Mandy's home baking; I had a nice fruit loaf and the missus enjoyed her slab of gingerbread. Prices very reasonable. Beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean, white walls showing off Alick's brilliant photos and other artworks and knick-knacks which are all for sale.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OldCourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

this was a welcoming place even though we got there near closing time, lovely soup cauliflower and blue cheese. Two really nice fresh and moist cakes and some great paintings . No room to carry them on the motorbike.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Gallery and Tearoom also viewed

 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing