We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B”
Review of Broad Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broad Bay House
Ranked #4 of 52 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There were 3 couples in our group and we all had excellent rooms with everthing and more in the rooms. Large clean, modern, with full complementary mini bar, sound system, robes, and the facility to have a meal cooked by Ian. Beautiful location overlooking the bay and a feeling of being remote apart from the sheep!. We all enjoyed our quiet relaxing stay before heading off island hopping. Just wished we had booked longer but will plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahmiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed for two night and wish it could have been longer
Ian and Marion really have thought of everything to make this a first class B and B.

The rooms are spacious and very well equipped with wine,biscuits,crisps,water and luxury toiletries.
The food at breakfast and dinner is delicious and the service excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank norma v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Unfortunately I stayed there only one night, but I will come back for sure. First of all The Broad Bay House is beautifully located on the Isle of Lewis direct on the shore with a beautiful view (check the sunrise in the morning). And the B&B itself is almost perfect. The rooms are spacious, quiet, well equipped and beautifully designed. The breakfast room is a wonderful lounge with a great view, a terrace and everything you need like telescope, sound system (incl. Grado Headphones) and a perfectly equipped Honesty Bar. The breakfast is superb and staff is very friendly helpimg you with everything you need and even those things you didnt know you need.
Simply: one of the greatest stays in 25 years of travelling all over the world and all sorts of accomodation!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HugoHackenbusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a wonderful time, it was my second visit to Broad Bay House and it was as perfect as my previous stay, it was my partners first time and he was very impressed. The food, ambience and facilities are out of this world. Ian and Marion are friendly, welcoming and accommodating to the guests every need. We will be back very very soon.

Room Tip: Room 4 is excellent with a great sea view - however all the rooms are of equal high quality, cleanli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OuterHebridesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great experience all round, top location.
Service excellent and attentive without being instrusive.
Great food, excellent views.
Highly recommend for anyone visiting Lewis.
Well done to Ian and Marion, very impressed

Room Tip: Request view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thedixons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Broad Bay House for one night having had a business meeting in Inverness. We had always wanted to visit the Islands of Lewis and Harris and decided to tag one night onto the trip. Staying at Broad Bay House made the trip worthwhile (along with scenery of course). They could not have been more helpful and the attention to detail was second to none. The food was amazing and the comfort of the room was incredibly welcoming. Please give this little gem a try - its worth every penny!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stunning views from the Dining Room add to the fine service and super food prepared by Ian and Marion at this small luxury retreat. Equal attention to detail and decor in the bedroom and bathroom again reflected the personal involvement of the owners. It was the perfect end to our nine day holiday trip from Mull to Stornaway.

Room Tip: Leave the choice to Ian and Marion...all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isle of Lewis hotels
5.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
303 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
295 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 21 in Stornoway
239 reviews
5.7 mi away
Twenty Seven
Twenty Seven
#3 of 21 in Stornoway
108 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stornoway Bed and Breakfast Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broad Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broad Bay House

Address: Back, HS2 0LQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Price Range: £185 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Broad Bay House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding beach side luxury contemporary guesthouse, rated 5 Star Gold and Eat Scotland Silver by Visit Scotland. Spacious luxury bedrooms, amazing views, fine food and a great selections of wines and whiskys. Free wi-fi, fully equipped guest library with PC and printer, and a completely relaxing environment. Just 10 minutes from Stornoway, and ideally situated for exploring the Isle of Lewis and Harris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Broad Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broad Bay House Hotel Isle Of Lewis
Broad Bay House Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing