We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, fantastic!!”
Review of Broad Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broad Bay House
Ranked #4 of 57 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a wonderful place. The room was perfect, lovely bed and a fantastic bath! The guest lounge stunning with views over the sea and an opportunity to spy on seals going about their business on a nearby island through the house telescope. A warm welcome on arrival, and great service throughout including an excellent breakfast!!
The extra touches meant that everything you needed was catered for and more! A real luxury 5 star stay in a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: We had a super king room at the front of the house, it was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

The level of food, furniture, bathroom, bed, TV, stereo, cleanness etc. is perfect. The number of rules to follow, the strictness in timing established somehow a feeling of obsession. Real perfection in hospitatity would need some flexibility in case of deviation and room for impovisation. The style of Italian hospitality could be a role model. The guesthouse is boxed between two other houses, but the view from the guest dining and living room is stunning.

Room Tip: only one room has a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cellogeorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

From the first communication to arrange our stay to the moment we departed this unique form of accommodation I can only say every aspect was excellent. The whole incredible concept of how this establishment is run and organised is a tribute to the owner and staff. Notwithstanding that the location and surrounding beauty is astounding. Impeccable service during breakfast and dining times was second to none not to mention the quality and range of fresh food and fayre. All coupled with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere the use of the guest lounge and it's facilities made the stay extremely pleasant. Our morning walks and runs along the beach at the foot of the garden enhanced our stay and set us up for the rest of the day. Tremendous place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I cannot add anything to what the other reviewers have already stated. We had a very relaxing and comfortable visit and were made to feel at home. We enjoyed a delicious meal each evening of our two night stay and breakfasts were freshly prepared and set us up for the day. We look forward to returning in the not to distant future and perhaps being able to spend a little longer in this delightful place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed four nights as the first leg of a two week break touring the Islands. Amazing. Could not have been made to feel more at home by Ian and Marion. Encouraged to use the main dining room/lounge as our own with free access to Nespresso coffee and an "honesty" bar. Fresh milk in the fridge to make a cuppa. Access to a scope and binoculars and amazing views over the bay and across to the mainland. OS maps to borrow. Hi fi system to play your music. Just like being at home. Ian's menus and cooking using local produce generated great breakfasts and even more spectacular evening meals. And a very comfortable bedroom.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but have different attributes. Only one has a sea view and that was booked well b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked this as a last night of a holiday to the Outer Hebrides, intending it to be a touch of luxury to finish the holiday. We were not disappointed. If there's anything that they haven't thought of, I would be very surprised. Everything that one would expect In a very good sized room and then some. The waitress, Esther, was delightful and clearly bought in totally to the concept of total customer service. The evening meal in the restaurant / lounge area (with great views despite the poor weather) was excellent, as was the breakfast. The night wasn't cheap, but I'm always happy to pay extra so long as the experience is spot on. This certainly was.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank paulsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Broad Bay House along with two friends as part of a tour of the Hebrides from north to south. Ian and Marion set out to provide the very best of accommodation in the islands and I have to say that in this objective they succeed brilliantly. Broad Bay House was our first stop and the following four locations were all found wanting in some aspect or other when compared to BBH.

The attention to detail is obvious in every aspect and any criticisms are minor and down to personal preferences. You don't spend long in the bedrooms as the view out is nothing to get excited about but then this is countered by the guest lounge and dining area having spectacular views with every conceivable facility one could want. The building layout would not allow sea views from all the rooms.

The food was simply superb. Generous portions beautifully cooked and served and of a standard that could stand comparison with anywhere. The care in choosing the quality of the raw materials was immediately apparent. I would have liked to see a good modestly priced house wine on the wine list as we found the wine prices and indeed the honesty bar drink prices a little too high to encourage consumption.

In the bedroom, we would have liked to see somewhere close to the door to hang outdoor clothing and we would have liked more shelf/worktop space in the bathroom to spread out our bathroom clutter. At home we have LED lit heater mat type demisting mirrors in our bathrooms. I missed these as I tend to follow my wife for a shower and shaving with a misted up mirror is always challenging. The Moulton Brown toiletries were generous and good but a decent dispenser for the shower gel would save fighting to get the gel out of the bottle whilst under the shower. Similarly a towel stand near the shower would save having to park one's towel on the floor whilst showering.

These are all minor points but even excellence can always be made even better! The overall experience was excellent and we would definitely recommend BBH to anyone wishing to experience Hebridean hospitality at its very best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBalbeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isle of Lewis hotels
5.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
279 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
301 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Stornoway
235 reviews
4.4 mi away
Solas Guest House
Solas Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broad Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broad Bay House

Address: Back, HS2 0LQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Price Range: £156 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Broad Bay House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding beach side luxury contemporary guesthouse, rated 5 Star Gold and Eat Scotland Silver by Visit Scotland. Spacious luxury bedrooms, amazing views, fine food and a great selections of wines and whiskys. Free wi-fi, fully equipped guest library with PC and printer, and a completely relaxing environment. Just 10 minutes from Stornoway, and ideally situated for exploring the Isle of Lewis and Harris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Broad Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broad Bay House Hotel Isle Of Lewis
Broad Bay House Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing